We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bacon Lane, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently whilst in the area visiting family and to attend the Goodwood Festival of Speed, which is approx 45 minutes drive away. The hotel is in a lovely location, overlooking a large pond, and is very peaceful and relaxing. We had a garden room with a large bedroom area, modern bathroom and a small terrace area overlooking the hotels garden. It also had air-conditioning which was certainly necessary to ensure a good nights sleep during the recent heatwave in the UK. Everything was very clean, nicely presented and very comfortable. The hotel restaurant overlooks the lake and the food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent, as was the afternoon tea. The car park is a good size and wasn't full even with a large wedding going on whilst we were there. All the staff we met were very welcoming, friendly and conscientious. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are roomy and quiet and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    151
    81
    41
    53
See reviews for
96
195
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business and I was very impressed with the quality of the accomodation. Rooms were large, clean and really comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The only downside was the cost of the breakfast even if I was on expenses I couldn't justify paying almost £15 for it. I had breakfast in a cafe local to the site I was visiting.
My one regret was that I was only there for one night as the location was stunning and the walks in the immediate vicinity loomed really good-ideal place for a long weekend

Room Tip: This hotel is in an idyllic location and all the rooms looked really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend in July. The hotel is in a superb location - nice and quiet with a large "pond" to walk around with a beach and everything. Loads of walking and exploring to be done however if you're planning on going places a car is essential.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, ample and comfortable. We dined one evening - as there was a wedding the main dining room was off limits however we were seated in another small room which was adequate. Warning for those with large appetites - the portion sizes are really quite small. Don't be fooled when something is advertised with vegetables - the vegetables are extremely sparse. You may wish to order a side with your mains. Couldn't fault the food itself however, it tasted amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

However.... There is one gripe I had with the weekend. I did not mention it as I was only staying one more night however had I been staying longer I'd have brought it to attention immediately!
Being quite private people, my boyfriend and I left our do not disturb sign on the door. We do not see the need for someone to come in and tidy up around us every day. Upon leaving for the morning we encountered who we can only assume is a housekeeping supervisor/manager when leaving our room, said our hellos and continued on with our day. When we got back however, the do not disturb sign had been removed... And when we went in to our room it had been serviced. Against our instructions. This irritated me somewhat as it felt like an invasion of privacy, I did not want anyone poking around my things (things had been moved, clothes folded etc) however they entered anyway.

However this did not ruin my weekend; as a whole it was a very nice weekend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The perfect location for a birthday treat, we stayed in a garden room slightly away from the main building. The room was well prepared for our arrival and then serviced after the first night, the room was well equipped, including an umbrella for inclement weather, the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a boon during the hot weather we experienced.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and very attentive, the restaurant offered a good menu both for dinner and breakfast. The restaurant, by the windows, offers lovely views over The Pond. The days we stayed were probably the hottest of the year, so far, but we imagine that whatever the season the view would be great!
Certainly an ideal location for a special treat for a spouse!

Room Tip: Garden rooms offer small fairly secluded patio areas with chairs and a table and air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

With 17 for lunch we wanted somewhere that would cater for 2-year olds to 94-year olds with room for the children to run around yet give the adults a chance for a chat. Frensham Pond Hotel was the perfect choice with their Pond View room giving us that flexibility. We were looked after by duty manager Daniel, who was quite excellent and deserved the extra tip we gave. Our pre-ordered food was excellent and the clear plates confirmed that. It is situated in a wonderful location which was matched by the attention of their well trained staff. There was no hurry to,leave and the family enjoed a splendid birthday party

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic location, we stayed just one night and had an executive room, which was a chalet style building in the grounds of the hotel. It looked a bit grim outside, but the interior was fine and the bed was comfortable. (it was room 23. which is sited next to a slightly noisy plant room - boiler or laundry - so avoid if you are a light sleeper) We had a bar meal on the terrace overlooking the 'pond' (more like a lake!) and it was fine - predictable, usual fare. Breakfast was good enough. it suited us fine, ideal for an overnight stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The setting of Frensham Ponds is just beautiful and worth the stay alone. Secluded and sat by the Great Pond, the drive leading up to it is pleasant. Swift check-in, rooms are standard but with large modern flatscreen TVs, tea/coffee facilities, good bathroom. We didn't have dinner but did have breakfast, again of a decent standard. The highlight was drinking a bottle of prosecco on a sunny afternoon overlooking the pond.

I've stayed here twice now and would stay again if in the local area.

Room Tip: There are small hut-type houses in the back gardens which I'd recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel

Address: Bacon Lane, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.