We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bacon Lane, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
lancashire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were staying here to attend a wedding at the nearby Cain Manor. The location is excellent and i would agree with the recommendation to walk round the great pond - a reasonable size lake with beach on the other side. We went round after our full english breakfast which we enjoyed. We did eat dinner but did have a drink in the hotel bar which was comfortable if quiet.The rooms were fine although dark furniture looks a little out of fashion now. Everything worked and the bed gave us a good night sleep. Free wifi in the room and at a decent speed is a great plus. The only minus was a lack of hot water on the sunday morning due to a boiler malfunction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a very enjoy stay and most importantly a comfortable nights sleep.

The bedrooms in teh main building are dated and we hope that in the not too distant future we may have funds to undertake a refurbishment.

Just to let you know if staying again on some future occasion we do have fourteen more modern bedrooms.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    151
    81
    42
    53
See reviews for
97
195
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A lovely location and good standard hotel which must be lovely in the summer. Rooms comfortable and clean and service excellent. Staff are well trained and service very efficient in the restaurant. Food at breakfast very good and dinner has a reasonable menu. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Suffolkmobo

Thank you so much for your excellent review.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.

Best wishes

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went as a family to the hotel for an evening meal, and it was delicious. We thought the standard of the menu was excellent, we all chose different things, and every dish that came was fresh, tasty, and beautifully presented.

The service was friendly and attentive

Room Tip: we only came to the restaurant , so I cant comment on the rooms , but the restaurant and communal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We were so pleased to learn that you had a wonderful dining experience at our Watermark Restaurant at Frensham Pond Hotel.

Thank you for sharing this.

Best wishes for a happy Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Second time of staying here, and one of the best, Best Western hotels for location, fantastic lake out the front,although its called Frensham Pond,recommend the walk right round it before dinner. Rooms very clean & beds really comfortable. Met Kevin the manager at breakfast &thanked him for a lovely second stay . Will defiantly go back in the summer when the pond and wildlife have woken again and see it in all its glory.

Room Tip: Book a chalet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Your Five Star feedback is greatly appreciated not only by the team here at Frensham but also by all potential customers.

Sharing your review helps future guests decide on their preferred venue of choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a very happy Easter.

Best wishes

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed here several times on buisiness sometimes with a coleague sometimes on my own. There is a squash court in the gym block which we have used followd by a hot sauna and refreshing swim. Hotel is in the country side in a beautiful setting next to the lake but not to far from the motorway network. I have walked upto and around the lake before dinner in the past which is very plesant. I try to get one of the garden rooms if possible they are superb. I have also stayed in the main building and cannot fault this hotel at all. Staff are very friendly and seem happy in thier work, some have been there for a few years which tells me they like thier working envioroment. Food is very good in both the bar and restaurant and very reasonable priced. Breakfast is buffet help yourself with plenty of choice, food is up to a very good standard. This hotel is a gem!!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear SnoopydogMersey

Did you know you have placed our 300th review and such a fantastic 5 star review it is.

Thank you so much, this is truly motivating for the whole team.

Glad you like the bedrooms out in the grounds.

This are particularly good in the Summer with their own private terrace and the benefit of air conditioning.

The small 'upgrade fee' is well worth it on warm Summer days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Another brilliant short stay, usual great service especially from kevin, look forward to returning again shortly, hopefully the weather will be better so we can walk off the hangover round the pond, and the bar has re stocked on Guinness.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Edthered

Thanks for a fantastic 5 star review.

We were delighted to welcome your friends and yourself here recently and glad to note your 5 star satisfaction.

The bar is now fully re-stocked.

Best wishes

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is definately one of the better Best Western Hotels. Situated in idyllic surroundings at Frensham Pond the hotel is in an excellent location for walkers or as a get away retreat for a weekend. A walk around the large pond ( more like a lake ) takes around 45 minutes.

Check in is straight forward and well managed. The lobby area is very smart and looks expensive with its marble decor and modern architecture.

The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The usual tea /coffee, hairdryer and trouser press arrangments are present and the TV is a good size.

Breakfast in the morning is excellent with a good choice of English or Continental. The staff are really good and very polite and attentive. The dining room area looks out over the lake.

Wi-Fi works reasonably well although not that fast it is adequate. There is ample parking on site. I cannot comment on the leisure facilities as I did not use them.

I stopped here for two nights and on both evenings I used the restaurant. The food here is really really good. Clearly the chef is a genius and knows how to put together well presented and extremely tasty quality food.

This hotel represents great value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It is always fantastic and tremendously motivating to receive 5 star feedback.

Even more so when it comes from a Top Contributor and someone with seventy reviews.

We are all delighted to learn of your enjoyable stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back here on some future occasion.

Many thanks again for your fantastic review.

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel

Address: Bacon Lane, Churt, Farnham GU10 2QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham > Churt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Churt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel.BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel in Farnham, Surrey is set in one of the country's most picturesque and peaceful locations, overlooking the magnificent Frensham Great Pond. Here you can relax in a truly rural setting, whilst access to the motorway networks and shopping centers is a short five-minute drive away. RECENTLY REFURBISHED TO 4 STAR STANDARD. All bedrooms now with air conditioning Fantastic walk in rain and hand held showers Trimiri -Areva Fitness studio coming soon In room safe Amazing Hypnos Super king beds for a perfect sleep quality. Built as a private residence in the 15th century and a source of hospitality since the 1700's, the Hotel combines a unique blend of English country house charm coupled with all the advantages of modern convenience. All private and business needs are met here with 53 spacious bedrooms (including 12 secluded garden suites which are very popular), . The superb Watermark Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine and three conference rooms, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churt Best Western
Best Western Churt
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel Churt, Surrey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.