We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and problem free airport transfers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russ Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Russ Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Russ Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Mid Glam South Wales
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and problem free airport transfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed night before flying, pleasant staff on reception booked us in quickly and explained parking and bus transfer procedures. Lovely old building in the middle of nowhere so a captive clientele for food and drinks.
Room very pleasant, tea/coffee making facilities, and provided more milk cartons when I asked at reception with no fuss. Bathroom clean as was room, bed very comfortable and nice fluffy towels provided.
Bar meal excellent value, £4.50 for fish and chips, bar staff also very pleasant. Total cost for 1 night say and 5 nights parking very cheap so I feel the £5 return bus fare is more than reasonable compared to some prices we have paid elsewhere.
On return our flight was delayed 4 hours so we didn't fancy another 4 hour drive home. We went on internet while in the departure lounge and managed to get a room in the hotel for our return.
Bus transfer went according to times quoted on flyer.
Once again a smooth check in by polite reception staff then we went to our room.
I can quite understand how some might down mark the hotel judging by the 2nd room we were given. It was in need of some redecoration and perhaps my review would have been different if it was the only room I had seen.
However again the room, bedding and bathroom were spotless, bed very comfortable. My only complaint is that the plumbing needs attention, not in room 222 but somewhere, in a nearby room, at 7am someone using the shower caused the pipes in our room to scream - that's the only word I can use to describe it - now that's a wake up call!
Fab evening meal, best steak and chips I've had for a long time.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is what it is, a hotel geared up for an overnight stay and airport parking and the price reflects this.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room cos no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    201
    342
    224
    675
See reviews for
242
704
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a trip with Diamond holidays it was terrible, it was like staying at a youth hostel only worse. The restaurant was like a works canteen you were told where to sit which is around tables with 4/5 strangers, the mattress was so bad we had to place the spare blanket under the sheet to try and even the lumps out, which did,ent work very well.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you were disappointed with the hotel and our services on this occasion. All feedback is discussed at our weekly management meeting in an effort to iron out the highlighted issues wherever possible
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was such a welcome relief. Arriving in the lobby of this large, country house-style hotel high above Gatwick, and the usual stresses of getting to the airport, parking and checking in, fell away.
Here was a hotel which knew its business.Friendly, helpful staff so that within a few minutes we parked in the grounds, unpacked in our room (good,functional facilities) and drinking tea in a panelled lounge. Pleasant restaurant for dinner, Free morning paper and a reliable bus down to the airport. Stayed the night on our return. Large full English and away. Exceptional value.

Room Tip: Book a twin for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback posted in Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Second time we have stayed here overnight pending morning flight. Again, given some of the reviews, we were pleasantly surprised as we were last time. Stayed in one of the older rooms in the original house and whilst this was not as nice as the new room we stayed in last time, it was still very clean comfortable and good value for a one night stay. The restaurant carvery was good value for money although we saw a number of people " turning their nose up". at what was on offer. For £12 for three courses it should not have been faulted.Would have nohesitation in staying again. Used long term car parking with car delivery to airport on return and this worked very well. Overall cost was less than most long term car parks were charging for parking alone.

Room Tip: The better quality rooms are not in the original part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lybster, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our 2nd stay here for an early morning flight.
We stayed in a smokers room which was small but clean tidy and suitable for a one night stayover.
The fire alarms went off while we there but no attempt was made at evacuating and no explaination was given as to what had caused it - we assume it was smoking in the non smoking rooms.
There was a strong smell of some illegal substance being smoked in the top rooms and although this was mentioned to management we don't know if it was dealt with.
The couple next door to us played their music at a ridiculously loud level. They did turn it down when we asked but only slightly. Management did pull them up on it at 2.30am due to other complaints but the noise didn't actually diminish until 5am by which time we were getting up anyway.
Not quite the relaxing stop over we had planned!
Food from the bar was pretty nice but the hot chocolate drink was diabolical.
Would I stay here again? Probably but I wouldn't put up with the noise again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We apologise for the problems you encountered at the hotel prior to your holiday. We hope that despite your disappointment you were able to enjoy your onward journey and holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Don't expect too much, I read the reviews before I booked and was aware of the fact that an alarm call was a little too much to ask but we booked one just to see, it never came but we had set our phones to wake us up. The actual building is beautiful in the lobby areas and the bar and restaurant, it's an old period building so it does smell authentic but it's really not worth making a big deal about it, if you've wandered around stately homes in England this is pretty much what you are staying in. It's a pain that you can't have a meal in the restaurant and pay for your drinks at the same time on your card. We didn't try the carvery but the Steak and Ale pie was filling and delicious. We wouldn't be able to do two nights in a row, our bed wasn't that comfortable so we didn't have a good night's sleep. There's no lift, I'm guessing it's because it's a listed buildings so such modern additions wouldn't be allowed or the dynamics of the building just wouldn't accommodate one, like all old buildings the stairs are quite uneven and plentiful. The fire alarm got us out of bed at 4.00 am, these things happen, it's a shame the staff can't wake us up in time for the airport transfer. You can pay on the bus, it's £5 single which is quite expensive for this service, tho the hotel, not far in minutes from the airport is located in a remote spot, fine if you are just staying overnight and are happy to stay within the confines of the hotel. At check out, we did mention the accuracy of the Trip Advisor reviews and the whole "not getting an alarm call" where we were told by a rather rude young lady that they "had won an award" I had a quick scout on the walls, it's for value for money from LateRooms......high five for that achievement, I thought at the very least we would have had an apology. Forewarned is forearmed!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie h, General Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read you seemed satisfied with your stay at the Russ Hill recently. We value all comments received from our guests and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you travel via Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had booked The Europa but because of works to carpark we were moved to the Russ hill. We have stayed here before and as before had no problems. We requested a smoking room which was fine. Yes a bit dated but for the price and 8 days parking what do you expect. It was clean and warm. Cavery was pleasant. Apart from hearing someone "sneeze" in the night never heard a thing. Bus arrived on time at 6:30am. On return we had just missed the bus and it was freezing so we got a taxi back to hotel. Car was fine. We prefer to park where we do not have to give our car keys over as you never know what they do with car while you are away.
Good value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Russ Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Charlwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russ Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.