We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gastro Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown and Cushion

Crown and Cushion
Minley Road, Camberley GU17 9UA, England
+44 1252 545253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Camberley
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At the Crown and Cushion we are proud to serve fantastic food and drink; classic pub food or specials to rival any restaurant, all freshly prepared! On Sundays, you can choose a Sunday Lunch in our pub, or a superb carvery in our magnificent Meade Hall. Roaring log fires in winter, cricket on the green in summer!
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Gastro Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

They have a brilliant selection of beers, wines and spirits. The food is perhaps a little bit on the expensive side but don't be put off by that as it is worth the extra. Book a table at the wekends though to avoid disappointment. The patio area is large and heated and will be lovely in the summer as it overlooks the local cricket pitch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    61
    20
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the best places in the south of any country, The owner and the staff are so nice and helpful and nothing is too much trouble to make your experience the best it can be. The food is amazing and great value, the setting is lovely, You could not do better than to have a nice long evening meal or sunday lunch or quick gourmet sandwich than come to this gorgeous gem of a find. Also The Meade Hall venue - attached to the pub and available for events, is a perfect setting for any birthday, anniversary, wedding or any event, its a beautiful place. Well worth a visit just for that!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic lunch. The best Thai green curry - better than many Thai restaurants... Loads of chicken and they gave me extra red chillis on the side because I like it hot!
My partner Loved his Massman curry - filling and full of flavour.
Washed down with some Merlot - a very enjoyable afternoon!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking to get in here for a Friday lunch I advise you to ring in advance and see if you can reserve a table. It is very popular, and for good reason. The food is beyond what you would expect from a pub. The curries are always very good. They have a good selection of Ales and Lagers, and the wine list is pretty good too.
The staff are welcoming and very helpful. I expect they are used to having a full house.
In terms of value, I would say that you get what you pay for, it's not cheap, but it's worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having driven past the Crown and Cushion for many years, I decided to book it for a business lunch to see what it is like. Fantastic! The Thai menu was coked perfectly, and loads of it. The service was really friendly. The building is a real gem, and I would think that during the summer, the location would be ideal with the cricket ground to the back. Give it a try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Cushion also viewed

 
Camberley, Surrey
Camberley, Surrey
 

Been to Crown and Cushion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown and Cushion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.