We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectation management.. Sumptuous and ££ as well but plastic "character" & crazy toilets !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa to your Saves list
Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expectation management.. Sumptuous and ££ as well but plastic "character" & crazy toilets !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This IS an impressive place, no doubt. The cold weather bought on an attack of open and roaring fires and the place just reeked of "atmosphere". One of the reviews suggested "american" and this is a great summary.

It is delightful - if somewhat manufactured in it's ambience.

The SPA (£5k / yr, and ~£1k joining fee) is great but then again, it's expected to wow you, so it does this. The staff seemed great and I could see they had been trained well to manage any sort of activity or circumstance.

I was in a group dinner one night and had a meal - it was superb and I have one the fussiest palate on the planet. Top Chef(s)

It is a somewhat sprawling venue and in some parts, you will need to leave lighted candles behind you to know where you had been !

Pillows were silly soft, so the moment you put your head on them, they sunk to the level of the mattress. TV / DVD in the room was great, Free Wifi was good and the surrounding (huge) forest made an evening run without lights a little exciting.

Overall ?

Tricky.

When you check into a place like this you expect excellence and in the main, I got it. Trouble is, despite all the glamour, the glitz and pizazz of the £400/ night room, I think it is not somewhere I could rush back to. SHOCK,

Don't get me wrong... it's all "so so perfect" but I'm struggling with the whole character of the place. I have had better stays at much lower price.

However, judging by the super cool exec barges in the car park, this is very much the place where Justin and Henrietta pop for a few days - no expenses spared of course.

If you like this sort of thing go for it. You will be impressed.

Oh, I forgot to mention. The "over the top" nature of this hotel can be summed up in a simple sentence:- The mens urinals flush when you stand in front of them and do this continuously.... with HOT WATER ! AAAHHHH.... talk about stupid and wasteful.

Room Tip: I had the Hornbeam room. Others in my group had (for the same price) massive rooms and all sorts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    233
    102
    47
    12
See reviews for
122
584
12
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went here with my wife on a recommendation from a good friend of mine.

It is ok.

The old building is very nice but the accommodation that we had felt very much like it was built in the 1980's to model some of the large american hotels I have stayed it.

We had a nice meal in the restaurant, it was only marred by the loud music coming in from the room above, which went on for about an hour.. Not very romantic!

The spa was ok, but it did feel a little like something out of the only way is Essex or a footballers wives convention.

It isn't a patch on the likes of Whatley Manor or the Dorchester..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a first class sprawling hotel set in extensive grounds and has just about every amenity that you could wish for. Our room was exquisitely furnished and equipped with every modern convenience, and the bathroom was probably the best we have ever had anywhere. Being critical, the only thing that let the ground floor room down was the lack of a view from the window and because the room was below the surrounding ground level it gave it a slightly claustrophobic feel.
The spa was excellent and has both inside and outside features, and is also spacious enough that it does not feel crowded. The changing facilities are excellent with towels, robes and slippers being provided in every locker. We ate a 3 course meal in the Brasserie and the food was superb. The service provided by the waiters at both evening meal and breakfast was very efficient and attentive without being overpowering.
All things considered, an excellent 'luxury' hotel with fantastic facilities that is well worth a visit - just don't expect it to be a small and 'intimate' getaway.

Room Tip: Probably best to opt for a first floor room to guarantee some sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I booked a table for afternoon tea between Christmas and New Year for my mum and we thoroughly enjoyed it. From the moment we walked into the dining room, which had a pianist and lots of lovely decorations, we felt instantly relaxed. The service was prompt and friendly and the food delicious. The mince pies were some of the best I've tasted and the scones arrived at the table still warm. I would have liked some more fruit-based desserts that weren't so sugary but that is just personal preference. We were absolutely stuffed by the end of the tea, even after declining two offers of more sandwiches and cake! If you're local to the area, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this for a relaxing treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My Mum and I have just returned from spending a fantastic weekend at Pennyhill Park. I've been to many spas and this is by far the best I've visited. Every member of staff were friendly and welcoming always with a smile, nothing was too much trouble. The food was also outstanding with the best creme brûlée I've ever tasted. Can't wait to go back. Thank you to everyone at Pennyhill Park.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night with a work conference and thought the hotel was brilliant. My room was amazing - from memory I stayed in Polyanthus (all the rooms are named after flowers!). The bedroom area was very large and I then had a mezzanine over part of the bedroom and bathroom which was a very large space with a desk and office space. The bathroom was also very large and had underfloor heating throughout, the rain shower was also a nice touch.

I visited the spa early in the morning and had it all to myself. This was one of the best spa's I have ever been in and certainly had a lot to offer.

We all had dinner in a private dinning room, the food and service was excellent.

I imagine a weekend of relaxing in the spa here coupled with the fine dining and excellent bar will definately have me returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Amazing spa, amazing hotel, the staff were very nice and the room was lovely. I have no complaints. If you want to treat yourself to a spa day then definitely choose Pennyhill Park. I've been to lots of Spas (even Vegas) and still trying to find one that tops this one and i am failing miserably!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa

Address: London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Bagshot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyhill Park is a magnificent country house hotel in Bagshot, Surrey, set amongst 123 acres of gardens and parkland including a 9 hole golf course. This five-star luxury hotel offers everything from unmatchable luxury spa breaks and treatments to fine wines, Surrey's only two Michelin star restaurant, Michael Wignall at The Latymer and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Bagshot
Pennyhill Park Hotel And Country
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Spa Bagshot, England - Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.