We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa to your Saves list
Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“OK - but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with undoubted charms. Room large, bed comfortable, but machinery somewhere resulted in constant low thrum that could be felt rather than heard. Food was excellent - but main (corporate) meal took too long to serve. 20 minutes to get the amuse bouche, 20 minutes to get the starter, a further 20 minutes before the main course, by which time I was no longer hungry.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    258
    114
    49
    14
See reviews for
137
651
15
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked a sunday night stay here for my 2nd year anniversary with my girlfriend and from start to finish this was an amazing experience. We quite often stay in hotels in the west end and know what to expect when booking a 5 star hotel and Pennyhill didn't disappoint.
We had booked a nights stay with a spa package and dinner and breakfast and we were very impressed with the food and accomodation but the best bit of the trip was the amazing Spa, from the ice room to the underwater classical music in the swimming pool we were both very impressed by this Spa and the service was excellent as well.
Overall this was a 10/10 weekend and one that i'd definately go on again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I went with friends one wet Wednesday afternoon. The car park is about a 5 minute walk from the front of the hotel but if you drive up to the front door they will valet park your car for you. Very attentive staff on the front door and knowledgeable concierge.

Afternoon tea can only be described as very civilised. If you are in a hurry eat in your room; if you have a few hours to while away, sit down and enjoy yourself! Very good selection of teas, including herbal and decaffinated, and if you fancy pushing the boat out there are alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails together with champagne by the glass.

Finger sandwiches with 4 different fillings, cakes, scones with clotted cream and strawberry (or raspberry) jam and gorgeous pastries. The pastries are the only things they don't give everyone round the table exactly the same - so we had an argument!

The package looks a bit expensive but it is a wonderful way to spend a few hours. The staff are to be congratulated on just the right amount of attententiveness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a lovely overnight stay here. From the moment we arrived, we knew this was a special place. The greeting at reception was very friendly, and our room was terrific – more of a suite than a room, with a separate seating area and a wonderfully high spec bathroom.

The spa facilities are fantastic, even better considering that they are complimentary. The grounds compliment the spa and the hotel perfectly.

Dinner in the Michelin star restaurant was very good, but not as spectacular as we had been hoping. We did, however, go for a post-dinner drink in the bar, and were hugely impressed by the brilliant live musician – a real surprise, and a great way to finish the evening.

We felt truly refreshed, which was great given we were there for less than 24 hours. Exactly what we needed. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been to the Jazz Sunday lunch on a couple of occasions and love it. The atmosphere, food, staff, jazz, are all excellent! I chose Pennyhill for my husband's surprise 60th and he was thrilled. One of the waiters Roy even brought out truffles and a Happy Birthday greeting on a plate. The restaurant is always busy so that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My mother booked a 3 night stay at Pennyhill for me and my boyfriend for my birthday and we had the most fantastic and memorable stay possible. Was organised as a final bit of relaxation before our return to university and left us both more relaxed than we could have imagined.

ARRIVAL: when we arrived at the hotel, the porters greeted us, opened the car doors for us, valet parked our car and took our suitcases to our room for us. The check-in was quick and efficient and the staff were very friendly and polite.

SPA & GYM: without a doubt, the best bit of the stay. Nothing I have every experienced even comes near to comparing. We spent between 10 and 12 hours each day in the spa and never wanted to leave. Going from 20 minutes on the massage chairs to a swim in the 25m swimming pool (with underwater music) to relaxing in one of the various indoor or outdoor hot tubs we enjoyed absolutely every minute. This is not even to mention the 'thermal heaven' with various different temperature rooms, including a laconium, steam room and ice cave, specially designed to maximise relaxation. On our day of check out, we checked out of our room at 11am and stayed in the spa until it closed at 10pm because we loved it so much. The gym is amazing, equipped with very high-tech equipment and such a variety - from cardio exercise machines to toning machines, punch bag, kettle bells and weights, it was really exceptional and the gym staff were SO friendly. I really cannot emphasise what a fantastic spa this was and just how relaxed we felt at the end.

ROOM: we stayed in a Junior Suite which was really excecptional: bathroom was outstanding with walk in shower, spacious bath and underfloor heating; room decoration was tasteful; bed was large and comfortable; chairs and table with separate desk for computer/work; and all room amenities we could have possibly wanted. A birthday cake had been freshly baked and left for me by Pennyhill. Clean room, housekeeping was efficient and very friendly. Wonderful.

FOOD:
We didn't eat in the Latymer but dined in the brasserie the first night, taking advantage of the 3 courses for £25 before 7pm offer and the food was delicious. We both noted how attentive and friendly the staff were and the ambience in the restaurant was fantastic, with a piano played in the bar outside.
The breakfast was really very good with a wide range of options, all of which were delicious, and all the bakery products freshly cooked in the hotel. No possible complains whatsoever.
We ate in the spa only on one day and the food was good, not exceptional, but very expensive.

OVERALL: After being sceptical about a spa trip, we had the most incredible hotel stay we have ever had. My boyfriend and I are already trying to find another time when we can go back and stay and has been, by far, the most memorable birthday I've ever had, and we are now feeling fully relaxed to return to uni. Cannot thank the staff at Pennyhill enough for such a fantastic trip and know there is no where else we would ever want to stay in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

this is the second time I'd stayed at Pennyhill - first was with a hen do and I thought the place was amazing in terms of the size of the spa, the size of the rooms, the beauty of the place, fabulous food and wine - all very good. We looked at other venues before deciding on Pennyhill - boys could play golf, girls relaxed and it worked perfectly. In the evening we hired a private dining room with 19 guests having the 10 course tasting menu with 3 staff for us all evening and it worked brilliantly! We had THE best time, the service was brilliant - nothing was too difficult and, even though some of us had found we'd waiting a while for service during the day, when we got it it was spot on and full of sincerity. The drinks and food are on the expensive side but as we had the tasting menu that wasn't an issue. We were 'booted' out the dining room a 1am to the bar and the bar staff stayed up with us until 4am at which point they all wanted to go to bed - totally understandable! I would highly recommend it for a weekend away, celebration, special weekend - whatever, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade to a delux junior suite x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa

Address: London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Bagshot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyhill Park is a magnificent country house hotel in Bagshot, Surrey, set amongst 123 acres of gardens and parkland including a 9 hole golf course. This five-star luxury hotel offers everything from unmatchable luxury spa breaks and treatments to fine wines, Surrey's only two Michelin star restaurant, Michael Wignall at The Latymer and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Bagshot
Pennyhill Park Hotel And Country
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Spa Bagshot, England - Surrey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennyhill Park Hotel and The Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.