We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Fish & Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's of Bagshot

Jack's of Bagshot
44 London Rd, Bagshot GU19 5HL, England
01276 473193
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Bagshot
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were thrilled to find Jack's within walking distance of our hotel. The fish and chips were perfect! Lots of tables for dining in, or take away to enjoy in your hotel room.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips, and even English breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a fish and chip restaurant, not a 5* hotel like the nearby Pennyhill Park: it should be judged as such and I rate it on this basis. It offers plenty of parking, lots of eating space, and clean airy surroundings (albeit a bit utilitarian). The fish, chips and etceteras are easily in the top 25% of similar establishments: good quality fish choices, well cooked and in good portions. We have visited occasionally for some years and always enjoyed our food, whether on the premises or to take away.

We only realised a few weeks ago that Jack's also serves English breakfasts until lunchtime: we took this option and I can recommend it just as highly. Apart from the standard ingredients there is a full list of side dishes that transforms the breakfast menu into an a la carte version at a very fair price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you want beautiful crispy batter on your fish this is the place to go.
The brealfast is really good as well

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Best fish and chips for miles. Wouldn't eat in but take away cooked to order and always tasty.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnersh, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty decent grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I took a 15 mile trip here for the 1st time as there are no fish and chip restaurants near where I live, only takeaways. I had no idea what to expect and had plumped for here based upon location and tripadvisor reviews. Fish and chips were excellent, the batter was light and crispy and the chips very nicely done. I would have given it 5 stars but they don't do curry sauce (I love curry sauce on my haddock & chips) - also the mushy peas could have been a bit hotter (much cooler and I would have sent them back).

The place obviously has a good reputation as there was a huge queue for takeaway on Saturday tea-time

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's of Bagshot also viewed

 

Been to Jack's of Bagshot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's of Bagshot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.