We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm

Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm
Beamhurst, Uttoxeter ST14 5DZ, England
+44 (0)1889 507100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Uttoxeter
Price range: $90 - $90
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great Food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have read about this restaurant and visited with my wife to judge for myself. Thanks to satnav, managed to find it, as it is a bit off the beaten track !.
The ambience is homely, and there is a professional air about the whole thing.
So in pleasant surroundings, we sat and waited for the food...................... we were not disappointed, the food is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed all three courses - it really is worth visiting, and we were impressed with nearly everything.
We really enjoyed the experience, so no complaints but there are a couple of things that I think would make a brilliant restaurant even better ! Firstly this was our first visit ( won't be the last !) and arriving in the dark, although there were lights dotted around the paths, there seems to be no signage - we initially walked around the back of the building looking for a way in.
Secondly the charge of £4.80 for a bottle of water only serves to niggle customers ( not just me - I overheard the people on the next table express surprise)- the food is so good you could easily charge more for the food and less for the water !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    10
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely food in a great setting. When you eat here prepare to relax and spend a long evening eating. It has been sometime since we were last here, but I would certainly go again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

You must visit Strine's Farm, it is fantastic. You are welcomed at the door and immediately made to feel at home. There is plenty of space between all the tables and the ambience is relaxed. The food is beautiful. It not only looks amazing, BUT it tastes even better. We ended up trying each others as it was all 1st class. They clearly use only the best produce and it is all fresh and cooked to order. The table is yours for as long as you want it, you are not rushed at all. We will certainly visit again and again and again. Italian night soon ............

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went on Saturday for my wedding anniversary. Very civilised, high standards. Don't expect to rush though - everything is cooked from scratch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wow - yet another great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A delightful country restaurant in a peaceful setting which we have visited many times. Service here is absolutely top class, Dee never fails to make everyone feel welcome and special. The separate cosy diny rooms make for an evening that can be as private or as gregarious as you wish. The food always delights. If you want pre-cooked 'fast' food don't come here - the quality of the food lies in its local origins, Paul's superb culinary skill and the fact that everything is freshly cooked to order. The wine list is comprehensive and, unlike many restaurants, not outrageously expensive. You can choose between a three or a five course menu and every course was packed full of flavour. On our last visit my husband had the duckling which was simply exquisite, the accompanying croquettes were absolutely zinging with flavour. Downsides? None.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm also viewed

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
 

Been to Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Gilmore at Strine's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.