We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rather poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Uttoxeter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Uttoxeter to your Saves list
Premier Inn Uttoxeter
Derby Road | (A518/A50), Uttoxeter ST14 5AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Uttoxeter
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rather poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Shunted into a disabled room, so sorry for disabled people to have to put up with the noise generated around the room i was in, the room was ok and facilities ok but the noise was a real issue. I am really hard of hearing through industrial deafness, and I could not sleep for lon because of the noise! I was woken at around 1 am with the riverdance team in the room above, and again at around 3 am, not a nice experience at all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    143
    72
    29
    18
See reviews for
208
71
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We went there as it is close to Alton Towers. Overall a typical 3 star hotel. But a few problems. Our room had two issues: the windows did not closer properly and bathroom cleanliness was quite poor. Despite repeated requests to fix the window problem, nobody bothered to come - apparently the person who knows it was too busy. So I had to forcefully close it myself. Regarding the bathroom, you really don't want to use the shower room.

Breakfast was Ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as two couples for one night due to the convenient location to Alton Towers. After a long and tiring day we checked in to find that two rooms on the same booking had been allocated in separate buildings. A bit strange but this was resolved by the receptionist.

The room seemed ok at first look but not as nice as the Premier Inn at Gatwick North which we stayed in recently. The first issues arrived when it came to having a shower. I noticed quite a lot of dirty marks on the shower curtain then my husband and I discovered that we only had one towel between us. This was rather annoying. I understand that the rooms may mostly be occupied by single travellers but if this is the case extra towels should be offered at check in. When trying to use the hair dryer after a minute or so there was a very strong burning smell so I quickly gave up and went to dinner with wet hair.

We went to the Table Table restaurant attached to the Premier Inn. It took 20+ minutes to get drinks after ordering and over two hours to eat. When asking to split the bill even this didn't go to plan with both couples being charged differing amounts. At this stage we were all so tired no one had the energy to complain so we spoke to the manager the next morning. The food was ok but certainly not worth a two hour wait.

After dinner we went to reception to raise the room issues and the receptionist apologised and offered to refund our room rate.

During the night some sleep was had but the room was very hot and stuffy and the fan very loud so we were even more worn out the next day. Not a good night at all.

The other couple also experienced problems turning taps on and off and lots of dust. This was mentioned in the morning but the receptionist didn't seem very concerned. I will be following this up with an email.

The stay completely failed to live up to expectations and I would hesitate to revisit or recommend. The only saving grace is the location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spending the weekend at Alton Towers all you want is a nice comfy bed to sleep in and to feel welcome.

That is exactly what we had.

Bare in mind that in the pictures you cannot see that the hotel is actually split in half, and one half is next to the pub where you receive your breakfast, we was put into this section and my initial thought was oh no not going to get any sleep.

But you cannot here a thing, parking on site main road but never noisy

Rooms temperature control was fine, shower was lovely, TV nice and clear also big!

I would defo recommend this to everyone, I felt safe, no noise the pub next door was friendly

As we are a young couple we didnt feel threatened by walking in and having a drink

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great value, great room, great staff, great location ( for Alton Towers in our case ). Let down by 2 things that have been mentioned in other reviews.
This hotel could quite possibly have been the best Premier Inn I had ever stayed in.

Unfortunately my only criticism for me was the room temperature. We were in room 309. It wasn't a warm night outside but the thermostat in the room didn't drop below 25 degrees C all night. The window could only be opened about an inch, not enough to circulate any cooler air into the room even with the fan that was provided. When we did get to the point where we had had enough of the heat in the morning the temperature was reading a very uncomfortable 27.5 degrees. The heat brought on an Asthma attack for my daughter and left me short of breath. By around 6.15 I went over to reception and was greeted by a lovely lady who was very apologetic and offered a full refund under the good night sleep guarantee. I was happy with this but would much rather have been able to sleep rather than have my money back.

We (2 adults and 2 kids) had a really poor nights sleep and were shattered in the morning. Defeating the whole purpose of getting a place to say near Alton Towers so we didn't have to be up so early to get there due to the location and on top of this had a long drive back to South Wales.

It is clear that the hotel management are aware of the problem as there was already a fan in the room upon arrival.Unfortunately - there were only 2 plug sockets so this was also a little awkward to use the phone chargers etc. Surely it is more cost effective to install some sort of Air Conditioning system rather than refunding otherwise happy guests.

Breakfast was absolutely lovely and plentiful in the attached Table Table restaurant and staff were very welcoming.

All in all - a great hotel due to location, price and restaurant but could just do with controlling the heat for comfort!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the premier inn last Saturday for One night for a family gathering so we did not have to pay for taxis.Check in & room was fine usual premier apart from a rather annoying noisy shower.
Upon return from night out we were woken at least 3 times throughout the night by inconsiderate fellow guests...True to there word we had a full refund on the good night sleep guarantee.

Room Tip: book in main block where reception is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends for a visit to Alton Towers. We've stayed at Premier Inn a few times so we knew what to expect. Room cleanliness wise it was brilliant! Everything in the room was great. The thing that let this hotel down was the reception team. They didn't make you feel very welcome, with a rushed check in and we weren't asked once how our stay was, or what we were up to. Despite the day/evening receptionists lack of interest, the night receptionist (man with short hair and beard) was really helpful as he gave us towels we had waited for, for nearly 2 hours and also a toothbrush that had been forgotton.

The Water Bridge restaurant, where we had dinner the first night and breakfast both mornings, we found great! All the staff were really friendly and chatty and did more than we would've expected them to do for us! Jess was particularly helpful as she recommended a couple of places to visit and asked if we had come for Alton Towers. She really looked after us that night and felt she deserved recognition for it.

Overall, it was a great two days, as the location of this hotel is amazing! 15 mins away from Alton Towers and right next to a burger king, subway & starbucks!
Perfect for a mini vacation. We wish we could've stayed for longer, but we will be back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed on the side where reception was and didn't hear a single thing, so I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Uttoxeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Uttoxeter

Address: Derby Road | (A518/A50), Uttoxeter ST14 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Uttoxeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel Uttoxeter
Uttoxeter Premier Inn
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Uttoxeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.