We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bank House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bank House Hotel to your Saves list
Bank House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Church Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Uttoxeter B&B and Inns
Newport
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

First ever review in trip advisor but this hotel is so awful I had to write one. Here is a list of problems:

1. Only had us down as one person even though the email confirming booking said two people

2. The stairs are steep and slope away from you meaning you feel you have to lean forward to stop yourself falling down the stairs. especially dangerous when you are carrying a lot of luggage

3. None of the floors in the hotel or rooms seem to be level

4. Room isn't big enough for 2 people and their luggage (room 9). Wardrobe is behind the TV stand with only a small gap in which to access it.

5. Window will open but it is either all or nothing as it seems to close itself during the night.

6. The shower is nothing but a trickle and useless for anyone over 6 feet tall.

7. The distance between the bathroom floor and getting in and out of the shower is close to a foot, with no step to aid you and no non-slip flooring

8. Double glazing is non-existent

9. The mattress is too soft as well are the pillows so you always feel like you are going to to roll straight out of bed - very difficult to get comfortable.

10. Extractor fan is disgusting. Looks like it has never been cleaned of all the dust that has accumulated in it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    23
    8
    20
See reviews for
17
32
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Agreed that the décor leaves something to be desired and the waitress was dressed in jeans but the food was probably the best Thai meal I've had outside Thailand. We dined using a groupon voucher and will definitely be going back. Compared with many so called Thai restaurants the normal prices were certainly competitive but need to be considering the décor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I ate in the Thai restaurant last week with my friend. It was absolutely terrible.
The restaurant lacks reasonable decor of any description and looks like a shabby back street cafe, it also had a really bad smell too. The waitress didn't look like one at all. She was dressed in a thick coat with a furry hood which remained zipped up for the entire time we were there, although it was not cold. Our food was disgusting and inedible, nothing like Thai at all and my friend's meal was not as described on the menu - lacking ingredients. They couldn't even get the drink right . I ordered a diet coke and it tasted like soda water. We told the waitress that it was terrible and she laughed it off.
Totally disgusting. We ended up sitting in the chippy at the top of the high street and their chips were great!
My advice? Go hungry rather than eat here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had a Thai meal here with a Groupon deal (£14.00 for two). The meal was worth £7.00 each but wouldnt have wanted to pay full price as it was nothing special. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and the music was mind numbing as there was only one track that played on a loop throughout our meal. Staff were friendly but numbers on menu had to be given rather than just asking for the meal option? Not a very big menu either but managed to find something that would suffice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have stayed several times now at the bank house, and have enjoyed each visit , even though some of the four posters are ever so squeaky !
Some of the staff could do with some lessons in manners , but over all a really good stay,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel, Mary could not do enough for us to make our stay more enjoyable, we had a lovely meal in the Thai restaurant, we then moved to a private area where we could have a good old knees up singing our favorite songs, I'm sure Mary remembers our rendition of 8 days a week!!

Thank you all & see you next year

Kindest regards, Steve

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Dead flies between window & secondary glazing even though prob 6inch gap so easy to clean - mouldy ceiling round shower - carpet all marked and dirty flooring around toilet raised and coming apart through damp ? Curtains looked like been up for 20 years never been washed - 2 windows but only able to one one - this is room 6 - should be priced at £25 a night for desperate people ? DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Go to high view cottage
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House Hotel

Address: Church Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Uttoxeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a central location in the historic town of Uttoxeter, just 20 minutes from Stoke on Trent, this charming Georgian-era Hotel offers free Wi-Fi access and secure on-site parking.The property was built in 1777 and served as the first bank in Uttoxeter. To this day the Hotel still retains many of its original features, such as the bank vault and a beautiful unsupported oak staircase. With friendly staff and a thoroughly warm welcome, it’s the perfect base from which to explore the area.Each of the 17 en-suite bedrooms are individually styled and furnished. Emphasising both comfort and relaxation, they all include free Wi-Fi access, TV, cosy bedding, telephone and tea & coffee making facilities. Double, Twin and Family options are available and for those seeking a touch of added luxury, they also offer elegant four poster rooms.Although the Hotel does not have its own restaurant, the delectable ‘Thai at The Bank’ has set up home in the Hotel, offering freshly prepared, authentic Thai food served in a welcoming atmosphere.The Hotel is located in the town of Uttoxeter, just a 25 minute drive from Junction 14 off the M6. Convenient and accessible, it is just 20 minutes from Stoke-on-Trent, 30 minutes from Derby and 45 minutes from Nottingham. Each city has excellent transport links and there is also a local train station at Uttoxeter, just a brief walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is just a little over a 30 minute drive away.The town of Uttoxeter is perfectly positioned to make the most of all that the surrounding area has to offer. The town itself is home to the famous Uttoxeter Racecourse, just a 10 minute walk from the Hotel. The vibrant city of Derby offers a fine cathedral, the fabulous Westfield Shopping Centre and some of the best real-ale houses in Britain. Whilst Stoke-on-Trent, renowned as the World Capital of Ceramics, offers over 25 pottery factory shops as well as a wonderful selection of award-winning museums and visitor centres. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Staffordshire Moorlands provides excellent walking and beautiful scenery. There are also plenty of nearby historic attractions including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Tutbury Castle. For unparalleled family fun, escape to Alton Towers, Britain’s most popular theme park. With its adrenaline fuelled rides, blockbusting attractions, amazing live shows and scenic gardens, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Uttoxeter, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.