We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samuel Barlow Bar & Restaurant

Samuel Barlow Bar & Restaurant
Alvecote Marina, Robeys Lane | Alvecote, Tamworth B78 1AS, England
01827 898 175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 115 Restaurants in Tamworth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Food was good ,but let down by owner shouting at his staff and making his customers feel very unwelcome,Won't go back for that treatment

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Samuel Barlow has a lovely setting and Paul, the Landlord, is a real character. He is also a great cook. This is excellent pub food - way above the usual lasagne, burger, pie etc. Last weekend I had stuffed peppers (there are always good veggie options and the chick pea spinach curry is great.) Portions are a good size and he uses fresh, quality ingredients. Wish I had a pub like this in my village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Alright if your passing by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't go out your way to eat here. Its a lovely setting but food is plain.
Nice place to go for just a drink Tho.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place- lovely food-original approach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an excellent Tuesday night 2 course meal which was value for money. This does not mean that quality was compromised! It was freshly cooked delicious food. The owner has a unique approach and involvement which is greatly appreciated and a great contrast to the service and involvement we see in other restaurants. The service was excellent and I was particularly impressed to see first- hand how much the owner is committed to supporting locally charities. If you want very good food a personal service and an owner genuinely interested in the customers and local community visit the Samuel Barlow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“NOT GOOD WISH I HAD READ TRIP ADVISOR FIRST”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend (I thought he was). The service is absolutely shocking, no ice for the drinks. We had booked a table for 6.30pm and arrived on time to be shown a table in the corner. We both ordered steaks one medium and one medium rare.

While we waited we ordered drinks to be told there wasn't any ice??. We waited for some time to be then told that the chef was not happy with the steaks he had cooked for us and he was cooking new one's (not an encouraging start to the evening.).

We then saw one steak from a table of four being sent back as it was under cooked and it took some time to return. When ours arrived they were both medium rare and I had to send mine back eventually it arrived cooked as required i.e. medium. What we can't under stand though is why the chef places the steak on top of your chips so any blood runs into them and the chips become soggy.

The steak its self was of good quality but the presentation was very poor, if you order the pepper sauce it comes in the pan it's cooked in.

No sooner had we finished our meal and moved to the bar area than our table was rearranged and diners who had sat down on the adjoining table were asked to move.

Would we use this restaurant again NO. would we recommend it to our friends NO

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samuel Barlow Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Samuel Barlow Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samuel Barlow Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.