We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful, friendly, very comfortable owner-run hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Drayton Court Hotel to your Saves list
Drayton Court Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drayton Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Coleshill Street, Tamworth B78 3RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful, friendly, very comfortable owner-run hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My colleagues and I have stayed annually over the last ten years or so in this great hotel. The owner and her wonderfully friendly staff run a superb establishment. It is warm, comfortable and spotless and nothing is too much trouble for them. We attend a trade show every year at the NEC and the hotel is within easy travelling distance of the venue. In the evening it is a haven in which to relax with a nice glass of wine in the hotel bar. Also if you don't want to eat in the very nice hotel restaurant, there are plenty of good restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel. We really look forward to our annual visit. We all think why stay in an impersonal chain hotel when you can have a much more memorable stay in this very individual personally-run hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
18
17
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had the four poster room which on the website looks very nice, it is nothing like the picture at all on the website. The bed quilt looked like someone had wet themselves on it and was stained everywhere, dust dropped off the frill on the top of the bed, and had not been cleaned for a long time by the looks of it. The loo had poo marks in the bottom obviously from the previous people staying, so it had not been cleaned at all and there were stains on the loo seat. Everything we seemed to touch was horribly sticky and just felt dirty, such as light switches and door handles. Our breakfast was very expensive, £9 per person per morning. The dining room is nothing like what the picture shows on the website, it was dark, very un-clean, run down, dreadful and so depressing, the milk for cereal and coffee I think had been left out for a long time as it tasted off. The bacon and sausages were undercooked and we both had food poisoning quite badly from it, as we were both ill later in the morning. This is certainly not a 'luxury' hotel. Although the staff are very polite. I would describe this hotel as a run down hotel that you would find in a typical tacky seaside town. They really need to change their website photos as they are giving customers false ideas about where they are going to stay. I shall not be returning to this hotel ever again and wont recommend it to anyone. I think I would have rather stayed in the Holiday Inn down the road as it would probably have been alot cleaner. This hotel is the most desperately depressing place Ive ever stepped foot in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Drayton Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for your review , We were very disappointed to read your comments after receiving such positive feedback from yourselves during your stay and on departure. We have many satisfied guests and we take pride in our hotel . We go through regular and thorough AA inspections, constantly achieving maximum scores in all departments of the hotel. We would ask all prospective guests to read all reviews for a true picture of our hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

All of the staff were very friendly and you felt like part of the family, the clientele are a mix of business and pleasure travellers and the hotel provides easily for both types of customers

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Delightful Country-House styled hotel which we found perfect for visiting Drayton Manor/ Thomasland with our 3 year old (15 minutes walk, 2 minutes by car).
The food is absolutely superb, traditional home-cooked fayre. Rooms are extremely comfortable and well-quipped. We cannot speak highly enough about the owner and staff, they were absolutely wonderful.
There are several restaurants and pubs within a few minutes walk; although the hotel's restaurant is excellent, and lounge bar usually lively.
If not travelling by car, best route is by rail from Birmingham New Street to Tamworth, then a 5 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Having used this hotel for many years now for both business and leisure, last weekend was the ideal opportunity to introduce it to a group of friends as we visited an AGM at the nearby Echills Wood Miniature Railway located in Kingsbury Water Park.

We had a great weekend and as always the hotel offered a warm friendly and welcoming atmosphere especially being able to return to the cosy bar after returning from long days playing trains.

The hotel offers individual styled rooms which are all comfortable and different, none of your sterile universal hotel rooms here. My bed was comfortable and during this visit the heating had been turned on to an appropriate level to counter the cooler evenings we encountered.

We ate in the hotel on two evenings and as always the food was of a high standard and made best use of locally sourced fresh ingredients.

Breakfasts offer a choice of continental or cooked and are freshly prepared to order - none of your pre-prepared hot-plate buffet food here!

Once again this hotel came up trumps for me and a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Drayton Court Hotel is an old coaching inn, which still has loads of lovely character. If you don't like sterile hotel chains, this is a lovely place to stay, with beautiful wood panelled rooms and a "country house" style of decor.
Our welcome was friendly and efficient, and we were shown to our room rather than just recieving instructions.
Although the rooms aren't massive, it was quite big enough for our needs, and was freshly decorated with a nice new bathroom suite. Our room, and all of the communal areas we used, were spotlessly clean. The bed was lovely and comfortable, the pillows were soft and thick and the hotel was nice and quiet at night.
Breakfast is served in a nice, large dining room. We both had the full English, which was nicely cooked using decent quality ingredients.
Altogether, a lovely atmosphere and great hotel at a reasonable price - we would definitely stay there again! Oh, it's also about a mile away from Drayton Manor theme park and a couple of miles from The Belfry.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is no way a hotel, rather a run down boarding house with shabby decor and mis matched second hand furniture.
If it were half the price this might be acceptable , but we paid £85 per room bed and breakfast and could have stayed in much better places for that money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drayton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Court Hotel

Address: 65 Coleshill Street, Tamworth B78 3RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Drayton Court Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drayton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.