We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Drayton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Drayton Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I have stayed here twice over the last 2 months

First as a couple for a friends wedding (we did a stay and play deal which worked out very good value for money) and secondly with our young children.

On both occassions the rooms have been clean and comfortable, staff are friendly, approachable and happy to help, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are good. The breakfasts are decent and work very well for a good breakfast before a day on the park.

The room service is expensive for the quality and normally takes a good while to arrive (on the first visit we were even billed for 2 meals that never arrived - but after a discussion with reception they were removed at no charge) The hotel is very family friendly. The only small issue I can point out is that on both occassions the bar has been very busy and has only ever been 1 or 2 servers and you are waiting 10-20minutes for a drink but very minor. Overall very good for the money and for a family trip, great value especially compared to places like Alton Towers were it is double the price. We will definetly stay again.

P.s You only get 15 or 30 minutes free wi-fi in your room then you have to pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind comments you have left following your stay with us. I will share them with the team. I will inform the bar manager of the lengthy wait at the bar and see if we can get that fixed too. I hope to see you and your family back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    265
    177
    68
    46
See reviews for
538
54
2
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menai bridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The room was very clean and the breakfast was really enjoyable, we had dinner in the grill restaurant on the first night where we did have to wait for quite some time but the food was worth the wait. We stayed for 2 nights eating in the grill both nights. The only let down was the kids entertainment there was supposed to be a teddy bears picnic which was held in a bedroom, this was most off putting so we did not attend. I would defiantly go back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am sorry you were let down by the kids entertainment but happy to see everything else made for an enjoyable time at the hotel. I am happy to see you would come back and our staff are waiting to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

we recently stayed at drayton manor as a treat for our four year old. We stayed in a thomas themed room which he loved. The room was lovely and it was clean, brilliantly done for kids! The staff at the desk were lovely and because we had a very early start due to travelling the hotel let us check in an hour before we were due to. The breakfast the next day was also thomas themed so we were taken into a seperate room which made it feel special, with a big screen showing thomas the tank dvd, i thought it was brilliant! The only bad point is phone reception/wifi...paying £242 for one night i feel that wifi should be readily available as it is nearly everywhere now.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am happy to see my reception staff were able to get you into your room before schedule after an early start. It is nice to see you enjoyed your character breakfast and I hope you get chance to experience it again in the near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Loved this hotel were fab with the kids and had rooms for all our family close to each other. Lovely park and evening entertainment.

Only negative was the breakfast, (morning with Thomas was great) - ordinary breakfast was like an afterthought and didnt liek myt screaming toddler.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am sorry the standard breakfast was not what you expected but I am happy to see your family were all allocated rooms in close proximity. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed here for just one night ,with a 20% off and park tickets for the family ..
I'm used to staying in 4star and 5star hotels ...
Room service was perfect ,staff efficient and polite
No complaints at all ...
Ok it's not the Dorchester but for the money it's superb ..
Highly recommended for a family trip away ...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
With our stay and play rates you can get some really good deals so I am glad you made the most of that opportunity. I will circulate your feedback to our staff who I am sure will be happy. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Hotel rooms nice, handy for the park & helpful bar staff. However a massive wait at breakfast time for simple things like mushrooms & fried eggs. Dissatisfaction expressed to be met with no apology & actually quite rude staff. Food ok once it was cooked but it meant that none of us got to eat breakfast together.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am extremely sorry you were met by rude staff and the food took a while to arrive. I will pass this feedback on to our restaurant manager for him to take up with his team. Otherwise I hope you enjoyed your stay and would consider us for a future visit. Thank you for taking time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Just returned from this hotel with hubby and 2 children. Very disappointed!! On arrival, queue for check-in was ridiculous and the whole process very long winded which was the main problem. Have stayed in many hotels before and check in has never taken this long. I had even checked in on line prior to arrival ... Pointless!!! I had booked a family room with one double and a sofa bed for 2 children. The room actually had a double and a single camp bed, no sofa in sight. Returned to reception to inform them and was told I was wrong. After some insistence I was told 'maintenance' would come and look. 45 mins later no sign of anyone, had to go back to reception where i was told they're on the way. 20 mins later duty manager came and looked surprised and said didn't know how that bed had got there, should be a sofa bed, which she would sort out. We went out to play area with children and to our surprise came back to find another camp bed in room!! No sofa bed!! A camp bed with metal frame which my son really banged side of head and ear on and was very distraught!!! All of this is not good enough when you pay £186 for 1nights stay, you at least expect the room you've paid for!!! Add to this the chaotic breakfast scenario and whole thing a let down. We found all of the staff most miserable and quite rude!! We had in fact stayed at the Premier Inn in Stoke the 2 nights before and I have to say everything about it was excellent and even the children preferred it!!! Half the price aswell!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor H, Front Office Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. Check-in is usually very good so I am disappointed to see this was not to standard and will be re-visiting this with my team. I am also unhappy to see our Duty Manager did not do more to resolve this when you were at the hotel. You have bought to our attention many areas to investigate in order for us to improve the service we offer so thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.