We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drayton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Drayton Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Brilliant for kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights so we could take our 2 children to Thomas Land (3 years and 1 year). I was very impressed at the facilities for children. The outdoor play area was good and we hunted around the hotel lobbies for the Thomas characters. The train tracks in the restaurant are a brilliant idea and our son loved playing with his train which we borrowed from reception (£10 deposit).
There was a mix up with our family room as when we arrived the extra bed and cot were not set up. House keeping informed us they had set up a different room for us but quickly sorted out the sofa bed and cot.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and found the food good. The breakfast buffet had all the right foods but I just wish the croissants had been warm!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review

I'm glad to hear that you and your family had a really enjoyable stay with us and I will share your positive comments with the team.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and next time if you just mention "warm croissant" to the team at breakfast I bet they'll take care of it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    266
    178
    68
    46
See reviews for
539
54
2
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this hotel on a sunday evening, special deal with a day in the park, great value, the staff were helpfull, the rooms were fantastic and the included breakfast was very good, overall no complaints and would recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great experience whilst visiting us here at Drayton Manor Hotel recently. I have shared your positive comments with the team here at the hotel and hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We found the room and hotel as a whole to be of very high quality. The rooms are very nice and modern with very good services and were very peaceful.

There is also a nice, fresh-looking area for breakfast, which was also of a good quality.

The hotel is located well for access to the park, and there is both the hotel restaurant as well as a grill near the entrance to the park, only a minute or two from the hotel. Public transport to the hotel is not very good, though; the nearest bus stop is over a mile away in Fazeley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Drayton Manor Hotel. Myself and the team here are delighted that you had a great time and found our facilities to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Last year we booked a stay in the hotel and a visit to the park. After a good stay then we woke up to find the park closed due to flooding....cue much upset from my children and a lot of disappointment. Drayton manor were great and allowed us to stay again completely free and with no fuss. Just back today after a great stay in a Thomas Room, themed breakfast and a day round the park. The hotel room was comfortable, friendly efficient and helpful service at reception and good food (suitable for families and children - although of course not cordon bleu) in the restaurant. Kids facilities such as playground and entertainment are good and we had a great time. Great stay.

Room Tip: Thomas themed rooms are great for families and make stay very special for little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us here at Drayton Manor Hotel.
I am delighted you had a great time and that we made up for your disappointment on a previous visit due to the flooding. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our 3rd trip using the Drayton Manor Stay and Play deal.

Great accomdation, Thomas theming and breakfast all good and perfect for easy access to the park.

Hotel does seem to balance between the park and business users reasonably well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Drayton Manor Hotel. I am glad that you have such a good time you have returned for a third visit. We hope to see you return for a fourth in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went with our 3 and 1 year old, who are both huge Thomas fans. the trip didn't disappoint either us or more importantly our 2 boys. They had a great time in Thomasland even though some of the queues were peak season length (best to go off peak if you can) and they loved the thomas themed room (the DVD player in the bed was a particular hit with our 3 year old). the breakfast was great, especially our character breakfast with the Fat Controller on the first day, and the staff were really helpful. a minor complaint is that our dinner that evening wasn't all that special but the comments we made to the serving staff were taken on board and reflected in our bill. It was a really special holiday, better than we'd even hoped for with 2 small boys, and we are already planning to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are delighted that you had such a good time with us here at Drayton Manor Hotel that you are considering coming back for a return visit. I am especially delighted that you found the facilities for your children to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontardawe, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My and my son visited as a treat for his 3rd birthday I was impressed that we could stay in a family room (as even though we are a family not many places will let a single parent with 1 child book a family room) so son didn't miss out on the Thomas themed room which he loved it's great that you get tickets for the park with the stay and play package we stayed 2 nights so we had tickets for 2 days entry ad the breakfast was included staff were all very friendly and helpful it's a very kids friendly hotel me and my son will defiantly going again we both really enjoyed

Room Tip: If you have very young the Thomas themed rooms are well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are delighted that you and your son had a great time here at Drayton Manor Hotel. We are particularly delighted that you found the hotel extremely child friendly and I hope to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.