We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Drayton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Inconsistant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lets start with the bathroom. Two people booked and one glass, no soap and no shower mat.
Room is fine but two mugs of different sizes. Rubbish not collected from bins .
So Housekeeping needs to get a grip. Bear in mind the hotel was 10% occupancy so no excuse.
Moved rooms because the bathroom door would not shut and the fan stayed on all night.
Next room had soap. glasses and shower mat . However beds were not made fully each day.
Breakfast was fine but I have to say the bacon was like cardboard.. Why? due to low numbers next day was cooked to order and the bacon was the same.. Maybe the night staff cook it and it is reheated? could only afford one course in the restaurant and this was well cooked and served nicely. Like the long time span for the breakfast service
Overall the rooms are generally good style and large ,The food is expensive,the drinks even more and it is a bit isolated

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park..better than the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    227
    150
    59
    38
See reviews for
468
45
1
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here two years running for Thomas land at Christmas, the hotel is lovely and really clean, very nice rooms, staff are very friendly and helpful, bar and restaurant food is really nice and recommend a trip to the grill inn, my only problem is the Thomas rooms are limited and if you don't book well in advance you won't get them, the Thomas room package is great but if you can't get a Thomas room you can't have charachter breakfast etc. it's very disappointing on all the children who couldn't get a Thomas room , I think you should be able to pay extra and be able to add children to the activities, otherwise a lovely hotel but if you don't like children I would check with hotel if there are any children's events on before you book!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for a National Sales Conference, lucky really, we were snowed in anyway!

The rooms are large and very modern, a large LCD and a 2 seater sofa. If you're going to the park then it is only 100m away.

The breakfast was excellent, a particular mention for the coffee, very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as friends were having a birthday party next door & those attending got a reduced rate. Rooms are modern and well presented, one bonus point was you actually get enough milk for more than one cuppa, petty I know but important all the same.

Really friendly staff, bar prices not that bad for a hotel, bar area is a little small with only a few seats.

Breakfast was really good, just wish plate warmer was working , and another extreme toast machine, anaemic or burnt !

30 mins free Wifi, wish these places would sort this out, if your a paying guest it should be free

Would stay again tho

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob140567
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for one night on business and found hotel to be ok. The room was comfortable and clean with everything you need. The rest of the hotel is a bit strange with Thomas the Tank Engine models all over place.

Bar is ok but small

i had dinner on site and this was really poor. Between group we had catch of the day, steak and a burger and all really not very good. Also prices at a level you should expect quality. Shame really

Staff were very friendly and I would stay again providing I went out for dinner

Room Tip: I was on 3rd floor and room was great and very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went there twice and both of the times it was really nice experience, especially for our son who is a thomas fan. We had thomas room each time and i think it's nice but a bit pricy. It's clean, staff is friendly and the food is ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My two sons are mad on Thomas the Tank Engine, so we booked one of the Thomas themed rooms at the Drayton Manor Hotel. From the moment of arrival, the boys were in rapture. There is a great big Thomas & Percy carousel display in reception which had them both captivated and then when we got to the room, they went even more mad for the Thomas bunk beds and murals on the wall. It was a lovely, spacious room with a sensible demarkation between the kids area and the adult bit. The bathroom was very big too. I also don't think I've stayed anywhere before with 4 TV's in one room!

Food:

The package we booked included dinner and breakfast. The evening meal was lovely and despite the rather spartan look of the restaurant, the adult dishes were elaborate and delicious. The kids food, however, was sub-standard - surprisingly so by contrast.

In the morning, the fry up with The Fat Controller was a real highlight. Fair play to the guy who does it, mobbed by excited 5 year olds and didn't break character for a second. His authoritative suggestion that my son had to eat all of his breakfast was greeted with enthusiasm and we swiftly had a clean plate from him - a rarity.

General:

Staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel clean and tidy. A little train (not Thomas themed though - missed a trick there) runs guests of the hotel down to the main entrance of the theme park regularly.

The room rate we booked was considerably more than the standard rooms, but you pay for what you get and besides the room itself, the character breakfast and dinner made the difference between a good stay and an amazing experience in my book.

A couple of tips:

There are wooden railway tables dotted around, but they have no trains. Take some from home or pay through the nose for one in the shop.

I would stay in the hotel the night before doing the theme park personally. The Thomas room is a real treat for the kids and it would have been somewhat wasted if they were knackered from a day in the park.

One criticism; the kids evening entertainment was cancelled "due to illness", but there seemed to be plenty of staff around who could have covered it. Otherwise, superb!

Room Tip: The Thomas themed rooms rock for junior guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.