We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. Thomas rooms are a bit expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Drayton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drayton Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. Thomas rooms are a bit expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went there twice and both of the times it was really nice experience, especially for our son who is a thomas fan. We had thomas room each time and i think it's nice but a bit pricy. It's clean, staff is friendly and the food is ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    228
    150
    59
    38
See reviews for
469
45
1
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My two sons are mad on Thomas the Tank Engine, so we booked one of the Thomas themed rooms at the Drayton Manor Hotel. From the moment of arrival, the boys were in rapture. There is a great big Thomas & Percy carousel display in reception which had them both captivated and then when we got to the room, they went even more mad for the Thomas bunk beds and murals on the wall. It was a lovely, spacious room with a sensible demarkation between the kids area and the adult bit. The bathroom was very big too. I also don't think I've stayed anywhere before with 4 TV's in one room!

Food:

The package we booked included dinner and breakfast. The evening meal was lovely and despite the rather spartan look of the restaurant, the adult dishes were elaborate and delicious. The kids food, however, was sub-standard - surprisingly so by contrast.

In the morning, the fry up with The Fat Controller was a real highlight. Fair play to the guy who does it, mobbed by excited 5 year olds and didn't break character for a second. His authoritative suggestion that my son had to eat all of his breakfast was greeted with enthusiasm and we swiftly had a clean plate from him - a rarity.

General:

Staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel clean and tidy. A little train (not Thomas themed though - missed a trick there) runs guests of the hotel down to the main entrance of the theme park regularly.

The room rate we booked was considerably more than the standard rooms, but you pay for what you get and besides the room itself, the character breakfast and dinner made the difference between a good stay and an amazing experience in my book.

A couple of tips:

There are wooden railway tables dotted around, but they have no trains. Take some from home or pay through the nose for one in the shop.

I would stay in the hotel the night before doing the theme park personally. The Thomas room is a real treat for the kids and it would have been somewhat wasted if they were knackered from a day in the park.

One criticism; the kids evening entertainment was cancelled "due to illness", but there seemed to be plenty of staff around who could have covered it. Otherwise, superb!

Room Tip: The Thomas themed rooms rock for junior guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On New Years Eve we had decided to go to Drayton Manor hotel, after being told by our friend how good the party was that she went to the year before, we booked on paying £50 for adults £30 for children, even though my little one is only 2. I decided it was worth it as the receptionist told me that although they had no booked them at the time there would definatley children s entertainment like the previous year. I then called back before paying the rest of the deposit to check this and she said yes there is a Balloon artist and Face Painter.

When we arrived all excited, paying £50 taxis home and ready to spend £80 on drinks we were all up for a good night. We were led to their breakfast area??? Here we had a meal on a table that was not big enough for us, I was pushed against a window which had a blue light over me the whole time making it difficult to eat.

Feeling annoyed at the dance floor being round the other side of the breakfast area, only 3 meters by 4 meters big, the kids wanted to party as the disco was on throughout the meal !! To make sure we did not miss the entertainment, being disgusted by the party room , seeing that they had an adults party going on in a great room next door to the breakfast area, we had no part poppers no hats, nothing, unlike the adults party. The gentleman replied saying " we have no entertainment, we have a DJ!!! Yes we paid £50 each for a rubbish meal, carvery type meal and a lit up breakfast area with a mini disco, not even mentioning the music was cutting out every song !

I was furious, I felt I had been lied to, conned out of money !! All three families was gutted, we wasnt there for the meal we were there to see our kids have a good time.

At 11pm the same duty manager I complained to come over with a face painting list and told us he had asked the face painter from the party in the other building to come over to do our kids !!!

We were furous to find the party we had been described and sold was going on over at the Grill, with the Balloon artist and Face painter !!! Not only that, no 2 year old is ready to have their face painted at 11.00 !!! absolutely furious we crossed over to the other party New Years Eve was nearly over, we felt soba with anger and frustration !! In the Grill they had part popper, games, face painter, a chill out room for the kids to have some quiet time, fireworks, etc. !!

We have complained to the Hotel and we are awaiting a reply, disgraceful !! £130 for the three of us to have a £15 meal !!! We will never get the Night back, felt pissed off all night and wanted to go home at 10.30pm after chasing our kids from behind Buffet carts, NOT SAFE for a family kids disco.

The hotel was clearly trying to get as many people in as possible,how dare they con people and knowing I was in the wrong party from 7.15pm, when I asked for face painting and the balloon artist, they only updated us when people had left the other party and they didn't care about us leaving !!

I will NOT be letting this Drop be assured.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here on News Year Day and were not disapointed, everything was great. Check in was efficient and the staff were very friendly and helpfull, from reception to the chanbermaids who greated us in the morning on the way to breakfast.

Rooms are very spaciaous and spotless.

We were a little worried about the food as some of the comments have mentioned that it is over-priced, well I am inclind to disagree, the food I thought was reasonably priced for a hotel and was delicious. Breakfast is buffet style and is watched over so nothing runs out.

Over all a fantastic stay and can not waiti to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked and stayed in a Thomas Themed Bedroom. Such a fantastic room and pleased my 3 year old little boy greatly. Reception gave him some Thomas slippers on arrival which was a lovely idea and also lent him a Thomas DVD for him to watch in bed. All great ideas which really does help to keep the children occupied.

Breakfast was a great surprise as we were booked onto the character breakfast which again was entertaining for my son. Food all good quality and sets you up for a day at the park.

Had a great stay, so much so, my little one didn't want to go home.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a Thomas room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would start off on a positive by saying the rooms are lovely with nice bathrooms, plenty of room and are very clean but I would not recommend anyone stopping here for new years eve, it was a complete let down. My family and our friends were really looking forward to a wonderful new years and Drayton Manor but was really let down. The food was ok but seemed to take a long time to get sereved in between courses as there wasn't enough staff working!! In between the courses the waiter was constantly asking if we wanted to settle our bill which was quite annoying! Now for the main PROBLEM which was the entertainment The Dj played the same songs over and over again. There was no atmosphere at all in the so called function room which was actually the resturant!! When we actually booked this night we was told on the phone that there was going to be a children's entertainer but there was NOT! The real let down was at midnight the DJ did no build up at all and just anounced over the mic 'Happy New Year', which was very weird as for most DJ's I would have thought this would be their biggest night, but this was obviously not the case for him!!!
Overall for one night it cost a total of £450.00 and I WILL NOT be booking up next year or any other year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry, uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we went to Drayton Manor Hotel for New Years Eve with a group, hotel is very new and bright, a lot of emphasis on Thomas the tank Engine
the check in was speedy and dealt with by 2 receptionists as lots of people waiting however each room booked had to have an individual signature on check in form so that made check in time a lot longer.
rooms were 007,011,012, 103, 104, 111, 112 and were standard twin rooms, clean and comfortable but struggled to see how it is 4*.
Rooms were Air-Conditioned so had to adjust temperature as 22 degrees too cold, but soon warmed up. There was a tea and coffee tray included.
Bathroom was modern and light. struggled adjusting shower temperature in room 012 so it ran a lot cooler. was expecting more complimentary toiletries but was only handwash and body wash.
We attended the Abba Tribute night in the tower suite and the bar area was very crowded and not enough seating for amount of people there. once function room opened everyone was moved in very efficiently and table numbers were displayed on tv screen which was helpful.
Buffet meal was very small and consisted of 1 piece of beef, turkey and ham, 2 boiled new potatoes and various salads, cous cous etc. Desserts was slightly better and was choice of cheesecake, gateau, cheese and biscuits or creme brulee.
Bootleg Abba were brilliant and kept everyone entertained for quite a time then it was disco music until midnight. firework display at 12.15 was very disappointing, if you blinked you would have missed it.
Upper Ground floor was quite noisy until 2am with party goers going back to rooms but nothing too bad. this is to be expected with it being New Year
Breakfast was served in restaurant and was typical help yourself. good selection of cereals, toast, juices, hot breakfast. waitresses worked quickly bringing out tea and coffee.
we were a bit disappointed that nobody told us it was 11am check out and not 10am as stated on our key card as we rushed out and could have had a more leisurely morning but this will not stop us from returning again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.