We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drayton Manor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Drayton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Drayton Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Desborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Drayton Manor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very nice hotel, lovely and new.
Went as a couple but if you have kids they would love it. Comfortable bed, which is unusual in most hotels and enough pillows.
Can't fault the room to be honest except for one niggling irritation, and it is minor.

The clock on the 32" widescreen TV is so bright you can almost read by it!
Take some black tape to cover it and all is good. (Probably only noticed because the black out curtains are amazing, woke up 3 hours later than normal and was shocked it was brilliant daylight).

Breakfast of good quality, even had balck pudding, only omission was marmite for your toast.


On site food at the grill was excellent, a little dear for basic food but very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you had a good stay - and have passed your comment to the Maintenance team to see if the TV clock brightness can be adjusted? We have also passed onto the kitchen your valid comments about no Marmite for toast, we are sure there are many others who would like this to be available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    293
    192
    71
    49
See reviews for
588
56
2
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here on 27th Sept 11 with my partner & 2 year old son. On the day we arrived the theme park was closed which we where not aware of, but i suppose we could have checked. The tickets included in the price of the hotel where for the next day, would have liked someone to have notifed us upon booking of the closure though - it might have saved one disappointed little boy!

As we arrived early unaware of Thomas Land closure, we thought being a lovely day we would take our son to the outdoor play area which was advertised on the website. This however was not finished yet. We thought we would try the indoor play area & was told that due to staffing levels there was nobody to supervise this area, so this also was closed.

The only thing in the whole of the hotel for children to do is two small identical train sets in the foyer - which have no trains.

The rooms where of a very high standard, check in was smooth & the staff where lovely & very helpfull. It was exceptionally clean & breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice and again the staff where brilliant.

I just feel that it was aimed more towards the business side of things, rather than children which is a shame. When everything is fully completed maybe things will be different, but untill then, the holiday inn down the road does exactly the same job.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we really do value these and take note of all of these to make action where possible.
We appreciate your valid points regarding the play area, and have made sure both this and the Thomas play area are detailed on the website as coming soon. Unfortunately the outdoor play furtniture has not yet been delivered to us, which we appreciate is dissappointing expecially as the park is not open every day in September. We are currently working on our plans for the Thomas & Friends theatre as we need to ensure this is appropriately staffed and managed, again this is hopefully now portrayed on our website to avoid confusion.
We are pleased that you found the bedrooms of a high standard and breakfast & our team a positive part of your stay and do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future where your son can experience the elements which were not available on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A group of friends and I stayed for 1 night in September. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful - we were checked in to our rooms with no problems. As requested they had put us in 2 rooms next to each other which was appreciated.

We stayed in the delux rooms which were lovely!! Decorated to a high standard, spotlessly clean and well laid out. Tea and coffee facilities in the room came in useful, as did the mini fridge. The bathroom was larger and nicer than most hotels with comparable star ratings. There was a large, modern flat screen TV with the facility to play music via a USB port in the wall (although we didn't actually make use of it, we thought it was a nice touch).

We didn't make use of the breakfast/restaurant facilities so can't comment on that. There was a lovely decked area out the back of the hotel which looked like a great place to sit and have a drink.

Overall we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel - cannot fault the staff or facilities. We had read some of the previous negative reviews on tripadvisor prior to our stay and went feeling a little nervous about what to expect. We didn't encounter a single problem as mentioned by previous visitors so I can only assume thess was teething problems which have now been ressolved.

Thanks for a great stay!! We will definitely be coming back again :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to Drayton Manor Hotel. We are pleased to read that your stay with friends was a positive one, and that you would consider visiting us again, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent two nights here so as we could take out two year old to Thomas Land. I had initially considered the themed Thomas rooms but the hotel failed to respond to my enquiry email. We instead booked a Double/Double room online. The room was fine.

We chose the hotel simply for location, and in summary that is the only advantage. The hotel has no atmosphere, it is trying to be a family hotel and a business hotel but business meetings and toddlers are not a compatible mix!

Everything is an effort for the staff. There are no facilities for children, no outdoor play area as advertised and although there are a couple of play tables in reception my toddler quickly established that there were no trains for the tracks! It seems ridiculous that there were no trains in the Thomas Land hotel, but the reception staff confirmed there were none! The staff were unhelpful and it took three to deal with a simple request at 5pm one evening - I wanted a bottle of water...I was directed by the staff to an empty vending machine, then a closed hotel shop, and then a bar where I was told they could help when they had found the fridge key!

I was pleased that I did not pay a premium for the themed rooms and also ask any parents considering the "character breakfast" to think how many characters are in Thomas that you can eat breakfast with! I had a quick browse at this to see if it would be worth doing for my son on the second morning, but it was not in my opinion.

The Thomas Land theme park itself was brilliant but unfortunately the hotel and the hotel staff did not add to the experience. Hopefully they will get the hotel organised soon so as the staff can be trained in customer service and start to value their guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Firstly please accept our apologies that you did not find the process of booking a Thomas & Friends themed bedroom, We are pleased that you found the Double/Double room suitable for your family. Naturally we were dissappointed to read that your experience with our staff was less than positive and we will deal with these points with each department. This is not the level of service and interaction we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel was beautifully finished and you can tell it's just opened as the staff worked hard to keep up with a busy hotel but all the people we came into contact with couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is child friendly and for once we can relax knowing shouting kids are welcome and not frowned upon. Better than the Premier Inn down the road where we stayed last year. Why would you stay anywhere else if coming to the park? We ate in the Grill Inn just opposite the hotel which was fantastic food and definately great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We were pleased to read your review, thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit. It is always pleasing to hear when guests have had an enjoyable stay. We do hope you will visit again, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband, baby and I stayed for one night at the Drayton Manor Hotel on 21st Sept 11, staying in the Willow Presidential Suite.

First off, check-in was quick and easy, the ladies on the front desk friendly and helpful. The lobby is really lovely (especially when lit up at night time) the little model carousel by the entrance is so sweet. There's a little shop selling souvenirs etc.

Our suite, on the first floor was beautiful and the largest hotel room I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The bed was huge and so comfy, large flatscreen tv and all usual amenities, tv/coffee, mini fridge, safe, hairdryer etc plus lovely robes and slippers.

I think the suites get free wifi, but we didn't use it anyway as there's so much to do.

The bathroom was also huge, with double basins, lots of mirrors, huge deep bathtub and separate large walk-in shower which was great. Lots of towels, plus a heated towel rail.

The whole suite was beautifully decorated and furnished, very modern and absolutely spotless as were all corridors and public areas that we saw and used.

We ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious, the atmosphere was friendly and we didn't feel uncomfortable having our young baby with us there.

We also had breakfast in the morning within the hotel and again, it was delicious. Your choice of tea or coffee was brought to your table and then you help yourself to food. Lots of choice, typical full English - bacon, sausages, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, friend tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, hashbrowns, black pudding etc, also croissants and pastries, fruits, yogurt, toast, fruit juice.

We spent the day in the theme park and zoo which we have been to many many times before and still love. Some of the more older rides could do with a refurb (the Pirate Adventure for eg.) Thomas Land is great for children, we took our daughter on a couple of things (she's only 3 months) can't wait for her to be big enough to really go on the rides.

Overall: The park is fab, something for all ages. Plus the zoo is lovely for a break from the rides.
The hotel: beautiful and spotlessly clean. Great food. Can't wait to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in a Presidential room, we think they are something really special and so are pleased to read you did too! We really look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed for one night in an interconnecting room, so actually saw the double room and twin room, both excellent and very clean but then the hotel had only been opened 5 weeks so expected that!
Had breakfast in hotel, very nice. Staff polite.
In the foyer was a lovely Thomas the Tank Engine themed small carousel which my son loved!
All in all very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Manor M, Manager at Drayton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your visit. We were pleased to read you had a pleasant stay. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drayton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drayton Manor Hotel

Address: Drayton Manor Park, Tamworth B78 3TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drayton Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drayton Manor Hotel is set in a unique location amongst 280 acres of lakes and parkland that was once the home of Sir Robert Peel. It is also a moment away from Drayton Manor Park, home of Thomas Land and Drayton Manor Zoo. Every bit of the luxurious Drayton Manor Hotel caters to the modern family and business traveller. Our facilities include: 150 well appointed contemporary guest rooms including 11 Thomas & Friends themed bedrooms Wireless Internet Access & Air conditioning Parklands Restaurant, Bar & Brasserie, Carousel Bar with outdoor lounge area, Parkview conference and banqueting suite, Free car parking, Packages available including Drayton Manor tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drayton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drayton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.