We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book to avoid disappointment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
36 Market Street, Tamworth B797LR, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 115 Restaurants in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Book to avoid disappointment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Turned up without booking and were lucky to get a table, by half past 7 all the tables were taken. After eating there you can see why it's at No 1 on the list. Staff are very friendly and polite, service was excellent and the food was superb. Menu has a wide variety to choose from. Definitely be going again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    31
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth to visit again :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went on weekend , the room was packed! We were shown a table (only 2 left!) straight away, waiters service for food & drinks was quick but as they were full we were informed that the meal would take some time as all food freshly prepared. We had an hour wait but that was ok as we were friends meeting up to chat. The food arrived hot, nicely served & very tasty. I would definately go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great curry at an unbelievable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would like to say I found this gem, but I didn't. Our friends were looking for a local curry house and based on my recommendation to use Trip Advisor they came up with Monsoon. Well none of us were disappointed, well not in the food, yes it could do with some updating decoration wise, and the menu's were a bit dated laminated pages in a tired book, but the choice and the range of food on offer was comprehensive.

Once we had settled in the waiter talked to us about our drinks and advised us of the special £11 for poppadoms, starter, main, rice and naan bread. A complete meal for £11 gets you wondering !!!

Nothing to worry about, the food was excellent, the waiter service attentive, my only complaint would be the speed, the food probably came too quickly..... probably so they can re-use the table.

We were downstairs but there was also an upstairs, but I have no idea on size, decoration, comfort as we didn't venture upstairs.

This was a great find, great value, great service and great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lovely food, menu is great, excellent value for money and attentitive staff. Was special birthday and they went out of their way to make it special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a lovely restaurant. Tasty food, great offers and most of all very friendly staff. They were busy on a week night. We went with our son and they were very accommodating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.