We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
36 Market Street, Tamworth B797LR, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 104 restaurants in Tamworth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Tamworth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've eaten here quite often and it's now our 'go to' choice since 'Essence of India' passed into new management (food wasn't the same).
Monsoon has good food, good value for money and good staff
The last time we went (about 12 of us) Mohammed (tall slim chap with glasses) gave us liqueurs and a free brand new gold-leaf Bangla beer pint glass for my son. Great service. Takeaway is also flawless. Highly recommended, if you want a nice curry -this is your place

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    79
    17
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Monsoon is our most favourite restaurant any where, and we are lucky to have it in our home town of Tamworth. The menu is extensive and varied with over 20 Starters, over 20 Contemporary Main Courses and countless other Main Courses. You are made extremely welcome in friendly and happy atmosphere. The services from all the staff is excellent. If you need help with your choice from the menu or wine list they are more than happy to help in a light hearted way. Nothing is ever to much trouble!
Why not give The Monsoon a try, you will have a great evening out. Ask the staff about there Meal Deal it’s good value and more food than most people can eat. So if you can’t eat all the food it’s easy just have a “doggie bag” and take it home with you, no problem. Bob & Sylvia

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T'muff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have used this restaurant on a number of occasions now, and i can state that every time i have been i have had a great meal. It do-sent matter if its a starter or a main the food is very flavoursome.
Also the staff are very polite, and the chefs will cook you something if its not on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Monsoon, best curry in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors, our Indian restaurant of choice in Tamworth. Always a warm welcome, friendly staff... nothings too much trouble. Excellent value for money, generous portions of top quality food, always beautifully presented.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I & our two children aged 6 & 4 ate here whilst we were staying at the Tamworth Central Premier Inn to go to Drayton Manor. We were able to walk to here within 10 minutes. The restaurant is family friendly and we took advantage like other reviewers of their special offer;- starter, main, rice & bread for only £9.95 each. The menu is varied; food cooked quickly & portion sizes were just right. The food was tasty and had flavour. The staff were exceptionally friendly & attentive and made us feel welcome; it wasn’t a problem for the kids to have food to share and they provided extra plates for them. I was glad we were sat downstairs to eat as it was quite cold upstairs where the other seating was. I would definitely return to this restaurant if I was in the area again, although I’d be sure to book next time – we arrived at 6pm and after that it soon filled up really quickly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.