We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tasting food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Bengal

The Royal Bengal
104a Lichfield Street, Tamworth B79 7QB, England
01827-63257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 110 Restaurants in Tamworth
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 1970, the Royal Bengal has been serving its loyal patrons authentic dishes from the Indian subcontinent. Having just undergone its first major renovation of the dining room, we hope to continue to serve some of best balti dishes in Tamworth for many more years to come.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic tasting food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A party of 10 of us visited this restaurant on 24th June and we were not disappointed. The food was the best tasting Indian I have ever tasted. The service was very good and we had a really relaxed evening. There was plenty of food - The set menu includes popadum and dips, a starter of your choice, a main, naan and a rice dish all for £9.50. There was not a separate menu for the set price, you could choose off their main menu. I would highly recommend a visit top quality food for a very reasonable price. I shall definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    2
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Five of us went last Monday, wonderful meal, the starters and main meal suggested by the waiter were fantastic! We had wonderful evening and cannot wait till return again. Well done all for looking after us so well

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Indian in Tamworth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Bought a Groupon deal for a 2 course Indian meal for 2 and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent food and service, I will definately go again. The menu was very good and covers a wide range of starters, curries and chef specials. I had the best chicken tikka balti ever and they have Cobra on draught, not the usual small bottles. They provide a set menu of any starter, any main, any rice and a naan with poppadoms for only £9.50. They also provide a free delivery takeaway service. I can recommend this restaurant and I intend to book a table for 10 for a family party later this month.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Groupon on a Monday night, the food was excellent. We had Garlic butter chicken and chicken Madras, everything was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. We will definitely be returning for more . If you are looking for top quality food at great prices you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good Value and Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have being having our Saturday night take-away from the royal bengal for nearly 2 years, we have always found the food to be lovely and full of flavor. The food is reasonably priced and always arrives on time. We have visited the restaurant several times and have always find it to be fairly quite (which we quite like) but it does deserve to be a lot busier as the service is good and the restaurant is clean and tidy. We have not had a better Indian in tamworth

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Bengal also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Royal Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Bengal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.