We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tamworth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leisure Island | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Tamworth
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

spent 5 night here and i honeslty cant fault it clean, modern, by the lake and very close to all the attractions including shopping centers highly reccomend.if you want a nice comfartable stay with nice views this is the place .

Room Tip: request for a room facing the lake .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with The Holiday Inn Express Tamworth and found all the attractions and shops close by.
It was good to hear you found the Hotel clean, modern and very comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    149
    44
    9
    13
See reviews for
165
52
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here over half term with our 2 young children.
We received a warm welcome from the staff and throughout our stay the staff were excellent. They had good local knowledge and were happy to help.
The room we had was a reasonable size with a very modern, clean bathroom with large shower (no bath). The beds however were disappointing and not the most comfortable. They really let the room down.
The hotel was very clean even in public areas such as the toilets.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic as the hotel was full and we needed to wait for some items such as sausages and croissants but the staff did their best to try to keep up.
The location of the hotel was excellent for visiting the snowdome, Tamworth Castle and Drayton Manor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We as a team take pride in what we do and we are keen to make our guests stay comfortable. We recommend local attractions on top of the mentioned, such as Twycross Zoo, The National Arboretum, Sea life Centre in Birmingham and many others.

I am sorry if you found the beds too soft and sofa beds worn. As the hotel is 3 years old, we have started a programme to replace these pieces of furniture.

Our breakfast can be hectic due to number of guest staying in the hotel and the team is really working hard to run the breakfast service smoothly.

I am pleased your overall experience was a good one and thank you again for your feedback to us.

We hope to welcome you back in the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during half term. Rooms were brilliantly clean with a great bathroom (large shower but no bath). I would agree with other reviews that it is the beds and sofa beds which let the hotel down and look really worn compared to the rest of the room. Breakfast was fine as it was included in the room price-croissants, cereals, sausage, egg, beans, fruit, yoghurt. Two mornings were chaotic but two were reasonably calm!! Staff are an absolute credit to the hotel, they were extremely hard working and very helpful. Excellent parking. A great location for Drayton Manor, the Snowdome (next door) and Go Ape. There is also a ten pin bowling alley, park and a skate park close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here recently on a trip to Drayton Manor Theme Park.. Good value hotel and under a 10 minute drive to the theme park so location was handy. Breakfast was reasonable and pretty much as any other HI express hotel, unfortunately so was the sofa bed.. Not the most comfortable but its what you get at the express. I certainly think that within the budget market the the Holiday inn Express falls the Premier Inn family rooms are far better suited with superior bedding..

The hotel as a whole was nice and the rooms clean and tidy. Also whilst the hotel was pretty full the breakfast area wasn't overcrowded and the hotel itself was reasonable quiet.

Being a Priority Club member you also get free parking which is a bonus..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

As a valued Priority Club member we thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you find the location and breakfast convenient.

I am disappointed to hear you find the Premier Inn family rooms better. I am aware they have slightly bigger beds and I understand the comfort factor is much higher sleeping in one of these. I hope the priority points, which you cannot collect in Premier Inns, compensate you for this matter.

I am glad to hear you find the rooms clean and tidy; our housekeeping team work hard to keep the high standards you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This Hotel was very clean the staffs are friendly and helpful the rooms are of a good size. The only downfall was breakfast in the morning it was not the best but it is a free breakfast as there are no restaurants on site so you can’t really complain.
Would I stay again yes and I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do take pride in our team and location and I am glad that this reflects on the review you have made, it is important for us to receive all feedback, whether good or bad and indeed we truly appreciate yours.

Due to our location and number of people in the hotel breakfast can be chaotic. We can only offer continental breakfast with 3 hot options (scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans).

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Clean and well presented room with a very soft bed. Spacious bathroom, a commodious shower with piping hot water and clean soft towels. Breakfast (hot and cold buffet) was generous and filling. Parking was cheap. Very good value for the money paid. Good for a stopover. Easy to get to. Close to the ‘snow dome’

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel facilities satisfying and the price is good value for money.

I hope we can welcome you once again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for recent visit to Drayton Manor. The hotel is as you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express, quick and efficient reception staff, room and public areas were clean so no issues. As other reviewers have stated the sofa beds have a very thin mattress so not the best nights sleep but you are also not paying top end prices so you get what you pay for. Great location for visit to Drayton Manor, cant really get much closer, unless you pay for Drayton Manor hotel itself but its much more expensive than the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do take pride in our team and location and I am glad that this reflects on the review you have made, it is important for us to receive all feedback.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Address: Leisure Island | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#4 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking for over 800 cars at a cost of £1.00 Per car upon exit, validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.