We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Tamworth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leisure Island | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed after a day at Drayton Manor down the road.
After a hectic, hot busy day, after a short drive we were checked in rapidly and the room we clean and just what we needed.
The hotel was clean and well presented.
Staff were more han helpful and extremely polite.
Staying with two boys 5 and 2 the sofa bed was ideal.

Only tip is get to breakfast early as it does fill up quick. On that subject the cooked breakfast was an added bonus and set us up for the drive home.

Although we did not want to, there is a large shopping complex near by.

Well worth the £49 for the stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are always pleased to hear feedback, and delighted when the feedback is positive.

We work hard to meet Guest expectations and very encouraged by your response and particularly good to hear you were happy with the services and the Hotel.

We are all passionate about the services we provide and we aim to provide high quality accommodation and service levels for affordable prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn Express Tamworth in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    167
    49
    11
    15
See reviews for
184
55
18
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are originally from Tamworth but now live in North Wales. We booked the Holiday Inn as we were visiting family and it was great value for money compared to other local hotels. First impressions are a lovely, tastefully decorated foyer and bar area, superb, friendly and infomormative reception staff. The rooms are also very well decorated, my only fault would be they are quite dark, and you struggle to see to do make up etc, but thats only a minor fault. Breakfast was included, cereal, fruit, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Toast and preserves etc. All in all it would have been a fantastic stay were it not for a large number of guests from South Wales who between them had excess of 10 small children and who thought it was ok for their offspring to run amok throughout the dining area and reception, bearing in mind people were carrying food an hot drinks, they were jumping on the chairs, throwing ice from the dispenser everywhere and screaming. The reception staff did there best to request that the children behave but obvisouly the parent didn't care who they upset. For this reason we will not be going back to the hotel, If any member of that party reads this review you should be ashamed of yourselves. This hotel would have got top marks if it wasn't for you.

Room Tip: If you do stay either on business or as a couple request a room away from family rooms, and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you found the hotel lovely and the team informative. We do like to hear our Guests were happy with the breakfast offer as well. We are a family hotel and during school holidays and bank holidays we have a lot of families staying with young children. I hope this will not deter you away in the future.
We would very much like you to stay with us again. Would it be possible for you to stay with us outside of the school holiday season?
Once again thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back you to our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked a couple of rooms for 2 nights for 2 adults and 2 teenagers on a great deal. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms very modern. I did complain to reception on leaving that our bed had been pretty awful - soft and rolling into the middle (wish I'd complained after the first night as didn't sleep well). My other big moan is the breakfast area - much too small for the amount of people it serves. They need to bring it out into the center of the room and always have the extra seating in the next room open - we ended up eating on living room style chairs and a little coffee table! Sort out the beds and the breakfast and they'd have a really good budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, your comments are much appreciated.

I am glad you found the rooms clean and modern. We acknowledge the soft beds are not to everyone’s taste. We have already purchased a number of bed boards to make these beds harder and we will be budgeting for next year to purchase more of these boards to improve the beds and, hopefully, provide a better night sleep.

During summer periods we are extremely busy with families and we have large numbers of guests staying within the hotel. We use a ticket system to try and control the number of guest coming down to breakfast at the same time. To seat the overflow in the breakfast area we also use our Conference rooms when they are not hired out. It appears during your visit our Conference rooms were actually occupied and could not be opened up.

We are working hard to resolve these issues and we hope, on your next visit you will see an improvement.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed in many HIE Hotels. This one is reasonably modern so main bedroom was very clean and sleek. Bed very comfortable, nice quiet room and comfrtable for myself, wife and 10 year old on the put-me-up. For a budget hotel, very good indeed, especially booked in advance on the web to get a good rate (half that advertised at reception!)
As others have commented, staff very friendly and interested indeed.
2 flaws in our very short stopover:
1. breakfast room tiny compared to number of guests - people were standing up to eat! and HIE's 'new' thing of providing scrambled egg just doesn;t work for me as they are the most fake looking and tasting eggs ever!!
2. a very modern bathroom with glitzy down lights and chrome/glass shower showed the usual British tradition of mould in the corners, but better than most - seems British hotel chains don't value this?

Room Tip: Think HIE rooms are all pretty much standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay.

We appreciate every comment, good or bad and we are working to resolve any issues and improve on them. We are always very pleased to hear from our Guest when they find the rooms comfortable and the reception staff friendly.

Our breakfast option is greater than previously, and I am sorry if you find it unsatisfactory. We still offer the “good old” continental items such as: croissant, bed roll, pastry yoghurt cheese, fresh fruit, and toast.

Further to your comment on the mould. I would like to confirm our Housekeeping and Maintenance team are working continuously to keep the rooms up to Holiday Inn Express standards, and I do apologies we had not noticed and dealt with this issue prior to your arrival.

We do take a pride in what we do at our Hotel. I hope on your next visit you will see an improvement.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back you to our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We planned a trip to Drayton manor to go to Thomas land, we looked at hotels around the area and this was extremely close and great value for money. The hotel is very easy to get to and right next to the snowdome, there are restaurants, supermarkets and lots of shops nearby. The hotel is very clean, we stayed on the third floor, with double bed and sofa bed which was more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom is brilliant with a very nice shower. Breakfast was included and a nice buffet breakfast was available. Overall I would recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment, it is much appreciated.

We are glad you liked out location, yes Drayton Manor Park is 4 miles from the hotel and also we have a lot to offer in the area.

We pleased you found the room the breakfast and bathroom to your liking.

Thank you for your feedback once again and hopefully see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for three nights - I found .....

- Staff were pleasant and friendly
- Room was modern and clean (standard Holiday Inn Express furiture)
- Good size LG television (HD)

My only complaint is that breakfast was very busy - little room to sit down. After my first experience at the 9.00 am breakfast scrum, I then had breakfast at 7.00 am to avoid the rush which suited me as I had to be out early the following days.

Room Tip: - Breakfast can be a bit of a crush if the holet is full - Popular spot for wedding guests to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are glad to hear you found the room, staff and the TV to your liking.

During summer periods we are extremely busy with families and we have large numbers of guests staying within the hotel. We use a ticket system to try and control the number of guest coming down to breakfast at the same time but this does not always work.
Thank you for changing the time you came down to breakfast and we are glad to hear 07.00am suited you.

We also use our Conference rooms when they are not hired out. It appears during your visit our Conference rooms were actually occupied and could not be opened up.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed 25/08/2012 Room 311
We visited Tamworth holiday inn express as we had stay their last time were in Tamworth and had a great stay , however this time the bed was so soft or broken we both rolled in to the middle of the bed the worst night sleep in years and as for the breakfast well , all I can say I have never seen bread so thin ! DON’T BOTHER! , back to Premier Inn Lady Bank down the road !.

Room Tip: Premier Inn at lady bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Tim G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing us again. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the bed and during breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and will certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Please do not hesitate to ask any of our staff anything that would make your next stay comfortable.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Address: Leisure Island | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#5 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking for over 800 cars at a cost of £1.00 Per car upon exit, validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.