We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Tamworth South

Premier Inn Tamworth South
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Tamworth South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Tamworth South
Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here just overnight on a Saturday in July.

The lady on reception couldn't have been more attentive or helpful.

We had an initial problem with a leaky bath tap and a very noisy family next door but we were quickly moved to another room and had a very peaceful night.

The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable and have everything we needed for overnight.

Our only disappointment was the restaurant next door and as we had booked a room and meal deal combined, that part of the stay was not so good. However we have reviewed the restaurant separately and have not allowed it to influence the review of the Premier Inn.

Our stay was fine for a night but I wouldn't want to stay more than a night or two.

Room Tip: Clean, basic and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
16
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the course of my business, the stay was excellent, food great, staff very professional.
I have to single out one particular member of the staff, that is Naomi on the reception, she is one of the most professional receptionists that I have encountered in nearly 30 years of staying in hotels, very polite, very professional and very attentive to the customer.
Note to management :: Do not let this young lady go, she is a credit to your company.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 via mobile

Excellent hotel along with very helpful staff. The staff attitude to customers and cleanliness of the rooms is of the highest standards and rivals some 5* hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Lovely receptionist called Deborah gave us a very warm welcome. However, when my parents went in their room it stunk of smoke. They were moved to another room without any problems, then because it is an 'eco' hotel there was no shaver point for dad's electric razor. He was very embarrassed the next day that he hadn't had a shave. Beware of this if you are staying on business! Take your own loo roll also as there's is c£&p!
The Table Table restaurant next door was not full when we used it on a saturday night, and we had pre-booked, but it took us over a hour to get our main course, and only one decent knowledgeable waiting staff. They then got our breakfast order in a muddle the next dayl
.My dad did complain to head office - premier inn, & did get a full refund. Table Table's response was very poor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Great little hotel not too far away from attractions, v. freindly and welcoming. Clean rooms. Small spaces in car park and slight maintenance to car park required. Very clean and comfortable inside.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Had a one night stopover en route to Drayton Manor Park so was looking for a decent basic hotel for the night without having to pay for unnecessary facilities. This Premier Inn ticked all the right boxes.
The welcome was warm and genuine - always a good sign - and the lady on reception explained about the room and breakfast etc. Our room was what one expects from a Premier Inn - spacious, clean, well decorated with a good tv, decent bathroom and well stocked teas and coffees.
Breakfast was in the building next door and for £7.99 for an adult and child was great value considering the wide variety and quantity.
We had an entertaining episode on the morning we were due to check out when a woman discovered her other half was staying at the hotel with a lady friend. Put it this way - she was not best amused and I believe the police had to be called.
Brilliant value hotel that ticks all the right boxes.
Only minor quibble was that the single bed was a bit too firm for my liking but I did sleep much better than I do at home so I can't complain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

we arrived here with our 5 and 2 year old kids as we were visiting thomas land at Drayton manoor (fab highly recommended better than alton towers). After a long drive from Scotland we were greeted by a very friendly lady at reception who could not do enough for us! (wish i got her name) Thanks! We had a family room which was more than adequate with a bath and a shower great as my kids hate the shower. Very clean in fact i would say spotless! Tea and coffee in the room and you can get as much as you like if you need anymore! The beefeater (centurion) joined on to it servess great food and is modern and chilled to relax after a long day exploring! Service was fab and again everyone was very friendly and staff cant do enough for you! The all you can eat breakfast is great for setting you up fpr the day and as long as 1 adult buys the full cooked breakfast which you can eat as much as you like the kids eat free! The girl also told us to take some of the buns etc for our journey! Sadly there is no soft play kids area or play park but there is a lovely beer garden with grass from kids to run about! all in all very good and we will defo be back! We tried to book again for next week but cant get in we fell in love with tamworth and surrounding areas. This hotel is ideal for drayton and 5 mins into town centre there is also plenty supermarkets locally and lots of shopping! Defo go for it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South

Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Tamworth South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.