We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Stafford M6

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Stafford M6 to your Saves list
Travelodge Stafford M6
Moto Service Area M6 Motorway | Eccleshall Road, Stone ST15 0EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here on a friday and saturday night to then visit Alton Towers on the sat and sun. Arrived 9pm and quickly checked in and straight up to the room.
Yes the hotel is tired and could do with a complete refurb, but for £19 a night for two adults and a child, what can you complain about.

Room was spacious with a double and sofa bed. Missing sheets/bedding for the sofa bed, but that was quickly rectified by the person on duty.

Room was clean-ish, could do with some attention as others have said, but perfectly functional.
Silent night, not a sound after 10pm both nights which was nice.

Not much more to say really. You get what you pay for and for £19/night it was fine. Breakfast at the Moto service station was massively overpriced, but a BOGOF voucher on the moto app made it more reasonable.

Alton Towers was 35mins away, not 45 like others have said and there is a barrier/service road you can go through for this hotel, that will save you a good 8 mile extra trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    68
    34
    11
    18
See reviews for
64
40
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel as a base to visit Alton Towers not realising it was located in a service station. What can I say? Took 20 minutes to get served and collect our keys. The website advertises an breakfast buffet. When I asked where the restaurant was I was shown the direction of the service station there were no hotel facilities. We did not have enough pillows and was given towels to roll up there excuse being it was fully booked. Come on your a hotel you don't even provide breakfast surely you can to provide enough pillows at least. The chap on reception was really sweet tho. The room was terrible there were squashed flies all over the place , the word knob had been carved into our door and all we could hear was the endless drone of traffic. The t.V didnt work properly in our room , there were squashed insects on the wondows , there were children running up and down the corridor gone 10 pm, shouting from the opposite room and the staff did not deal with it . The beds were hard and none of us could sleep . itwas a 10/15 min drive to stone to go to morrisons to get breakfast before we set out to Alton towers really inconvenient. It took us 45 minutes to drive to Alton Towers. There was nowhere to complain except to send an email which promises to get back to you in 48 hours not good if you want your complaint resolved there and then and if you are only staying at the hotel for just a few days.
When home we complained and eventually was given a £50 e voucher , this was to compensate for 8 people a d 2 rooms on the booking .Not good enough travelodge ! I never complain but this was the absolutely worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I know this is budget but I have stayed in other travelodges and yes they were basic but comfortable . Do yourselves a favour book into the Holiday Inn in Stoke and stay in comfortable surroundings. Whst you spend on the room you will save in petrol as it is only 20 mins from the park , lovely rooms and all you can eat breakfast in with the price .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I don't understand why people are unhappy with travelodge. We had 2 days stay for competition in this hotel and everything was perfect. Friendly staff, lovely ,tidy rooms. Spacious double bed+couch. Big bathroom with nice shower and hot water. NExt day they changed towels and made beds. We paid only 40 pounds for family room and 2 day stay, and I had amazing sleep as the bed matrace and cover are really nice and soft.

Thank you travelodge staff, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am quite a regular customer at Travelodge Hotels. I hadn't stayed at this particular Hotel for several years and I remembered it was pretty basic on my last visit. It is now both pretty basic and pretty tired overall.
The room was fine, but the TV was ancient, the big surface for the TV, etc. was very worn away. I don't know if the fan in the bathroom was meant to stay on, but it did for every minute we were there !
The paintwork on the corridors and stairs is in urgent need of attention. There was no provision of a hair dryer, no information or stationery in the room, no biscuits, no shower gel and only a tiny bar of soap.Spare pillows were non-existent as were extra bed covers.
The staff were lovely and when you could find them, they were helpful. There just didn't appear to be many of them.
But overall, it was fairly comfy and reasonably cheap, so I can't grumble too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far corner of Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ok stay, room not marvellously clean, old and cranky tv, paint chips and chunks missing from the walls. Paid £19 though and got a bed for the night. Though having recently stayed in a Premier Inn I'll definitely pay the extra £20 to stay there instead when needing conveniene hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was in desperate need of a make over. Carpet had stains on it, the bathroom was disgusting with slime over the walls, dirty shower curtain, mould on ceiling, the furniture was tatty and worn, the windowsill looked as if it was rotting away beneath a manky old worn net curtain... This is just a short list of what needs fixing. The hotel itself was also looking dire and in need of some loving. The staff were friendly enough although the room we were suppose to be in wasn't ready when we arrived so we got an "upgrade" to a room with a couch in it... Which we then later discovered also was a second bed as it had a scabby matress shoved underneath it. Strange. There was a tv (an old portable Nokia 90's one) but it did work! The room also had a kettle and supplies for making tea in the room, we didn't use these though fearing the consequences of unwashed cups/a mouldy kettle.
The hotel is situated next to stafford m6 northbound services which has a costa, Burger King, marks and spencer, whsmith and a wee restaurant. This was handy as on our second day we were at alton towers all day (which is 30 mins in the car) and the last thing we wanted to do was go out for a meal.
At £19 a night I don't know what we were expecting, maybe at least a clean room. I won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stopped here on the way to Glasgow from the South East, very convenient ! The room itself was clean and serviceable (if a little tired) the sofa bed, as always, was the worst with stains, but still clean. Shower was amazing and a great nights sleep - what more can you ask for for about £30! The receptionist (Ryan) was brilliant, very friendly, helpful and informative he is a credit to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Stafford M6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Stafford M6

Address: Moto Service Area M6 Motorway | Eccleshall Road, Stone ST15 0EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Stafford M6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Stafford m6 Hotel Stone
Travel Lodge Stone
Travelodge Stone
Stone Travel Lodge
Stone Travelodge
Travelodge Stafford M6 Stone, Staffordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Stafford M6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.