We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Crown of India
40 High Street, Stone ST15 8AU, England
01785 814911
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 45 Restaurants in Stone
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Stoke
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food was of a very high standard. The mixed starter was very tasty. The green chilli chicken curry was superb. The chicken melted in my mouth and the flavours very nice. All the other guests said their meal was excellent. Pleasantly surprised as had average meal 2 years back. Blew me away this time. Maybe a hit and miss place but definitely a hit this time. Will be back for sure.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best curry in stone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really good quality food, very good service. We had a table of about 20 .. The staff were great and were very quick and helpful. I will be going back soon. The quality of the dishes was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lazy rude staff spoilt evening.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Visited crown of India in march. OK food let down by rubbish staff who made our party feel like an inconvenience. We asked for wine, waiter couldn't be bothered to bring us a wine list so said he would bring a basic one. Turned out to be English wine. Which was poor. Food was OK. Big portions so don't have too much to start. Could be better with more professional staff.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best india around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

i love this India.i get very full,but you can have food to take home for supper.staff are friendly.very romantic and larger than you would expect.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab curry; odd service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The curry is always delicious but the service is frequently indifferent at best and grumpy at worst. Also, the food can arrive practically all at once.
I still go, as they do the best prawn spinach and garlic naan!
The naan has garlic baked in to it, rather than garlic oil on top. Yum!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown of India also viewed

 
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Crown of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.