We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Crown of India
40 High Street, Stone ST15 8AU, England
01785 814911
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 45 Restaurants in Stone
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been using the Crown of India for over 10 years and although not as regular as in past years it is always a pleasure to go there.

I tend to have more take-aways but this is where I feel they win hands down over the competition. Excellent food that is always consistent and very good value. They don't deliver which is a good thing as I go and collect the food, have a pint whilst waiting and always have a chat with the owner.

I would suggest that some of the bad reviews are people trying to help the competition! Just look at some of their grammar for a start, very poor.

My only criticism is that it is very cramped inside particularly near the front door. There is more room up at the back though.

All of the staff are superb and we regularly see them outside of 'work' as they are all local people and always take the time to say hello to my two children who they have known since they were babies!

One particular night a friend and I were collecting a take-away after being out for the day and there was a long delay from our taxi company. The owner promptly drove us home!

For my wife's 40th a couple of years a go they also prepared the food for our party at home. Not something they advertise but very good value and great quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“No Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We first tried this restaurant when we moved to Stone. It was awful. We tried again a year later and it was no better. We left it a few years and.....no improvement.
In a town boasting a food & drink festival one would hope that the restaurants would strive to improve but this venue has failed badly. Even in the 70's I would have rated this poor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Curry House in Stone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have eaten in the Crown of India for about 15 years. It has changed hands over those years and we have had the odd not quite up to scratch curry. What you need to remember is that 'not quite up to scratch' here is the norm for other curry houses. Over the last year the currys have been really superb which is matched by the customer service. The owners daughters help out at week ends and they are both charming and helpful. Madras is to die for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Balti Of Fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed in Stone for a weekend get away and this restaurant was across the square from where we stayed (The Crown Hotel), went on our second night as stated before staff friendly decor dated, but its the food that matters and that couldn't be faulted Chicken Chili Balti best to date, wife loved her sizzling dish, never felt rushed but avoid a seat near the door as it gets busy with customers collecting takeaways and cold end up being a cold spot when the weather isn't warm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dated Decor, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Having lived in Stone for five years this was my first visit. It was like walking back in time when I saw the decor. The greeting from the staff was very welcoming and seemed genuine.
I wasn't disappointed at all with the food. I had a Balti, which was one of the best I have had for a while. It was also very reasonably priced.
Will be going back soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown of India also viewed

 
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Crown of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.