We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
21 Stafford Street, Stone ST15 8QW, England
12785813096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 45 Restaurants in Stone
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Poor.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited The Star Inn on Sunday the 25th of November 2012 for lunch. The two members of bar staff on duty,Lisa & Laura, were pleasant and efficient and the beer was a huge improvement on our previous visits. The downfall was the food. We ordered the roast turkey meal and it was dire. The meat was fine,the potatoes were hard in the middle,the carrots were rubbery,the peas were only fit for a pea-shooter and the gravy was dreadfully salty.
I really wish this venue would sort its problems out because it is the best site in Stone, although definitely not the best food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    35
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good setting, food disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Met friends here today. Excellent meeting place, handy to walk from if you want to wander up the High Street later. The food is a little disappointing, we had soup for starter, which was billed as "homemade soup of the day with bloomer bread" what came to us was homemade soup, - we were told today's soup was country vegetable - a few green beans, bit of potato, onion and large chunks of carrot. Not very good and no bloomer bread, just a slice of normal medium sliced bread. The main was a light bite, and it was a bit cold but perhaps that was because my friend had to wait almost ten minutes after we were served ours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've visited this pub on a year for the last four years on root to alton towers. I always gravitated towards it knowing that it has brilliant food. The corgette shewers were fantastic and the sizzler good as well well priced 2 starter and mains plus 2 alcoholic drinks 25.00 pounds accompanied by the view of the locks and canal it was yet again a lovely evening I will be back next year :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle-under-lyme
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently visited the Star Inn for the first time and had looked at the menu online initially, thinking it looked nice and varied. Unfortunately I was disappointed with what actually turned up at the table. I've been told that the lunches are better (i.e. sandwiches etc) but for a main meal I wouldn't bother. The setting is lovely by the canal, so I imagine its more popular for a quiet drink than a meal out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Should be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Over the years we have visited and eaten at the Star. After a recent visit we have decided we won't be tempted to eat there again as the food is so average. It is a real shame though because the setting is so good and in a foodie town like Stone you feel they are missing a trick. So, good if you want a drink by the canal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.