We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free relaxation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colton House to your Saves list
Colton House
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Hassle free relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We shared a top weekend here in the very relaxing Paul's room with a really good meal on the Friday night, huge steaks and a cheesecake to die for. Good breakfast and overall service. 1 nice pub within a minutes walk (The Greyhound - No Food served but good Ales) and a nice restaurant 5 minutes away (Ye Olde Dun Cow - Nice food and very busy on the Saturday night). A Staffordshire gem! Adam & Becky.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
113
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very warm welcome from Ron and Gay on arrival, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was beautifully decorated, well equipped, spotless and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, the service second to none. We would definately stay at Colton House in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very warm welcome by Ron & Gay on arrival....my room was very well equiped and beautifully laid out.....spotlessly clean throughout my room and Colton House itself....the mini bar was well stocked with a very good variety of drinks and chocs at very good prices.
I also had the pleasure of looking at all the other rooms in Colton House......and just like my room,everyone was stunningly designed and beautifully decorated.
Very good value for money, especially with breakfast thrown in and free WiFi in every room.
Colton House offers a very good Breakfast and Diner menu for their guest.
Colton House comes highly reccommended, you will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Every room at Colton house is good, but if its a big Tv you want it has to be one of the four poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a business trip for me and Colton House was a refreshing change from the usual impersonal hotels that I normally stay in. You get a very personal and friendly welcome and service from both Ron and Gay. Everything is spotless and the food excellent. Just perfect in every way. What more can I say. Will certainly stay again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After searching the area for a suitable place to stay for business purposes we came across Colton House - what a gem of a find. Ron and Gay have been superb throughout the company's stay. Always friendly, helpful, and an absolute pleasure to deal with. Several employees have stayed here throughout the month of October and the feedback has been excellent. The hotel is excellent value for money and we would highly recommend. We look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked the closest, most reasonably priced hotel for a short business trip in the area. What i found was a beautiful hotel, run by Ron who was the incredibly warm and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. A true personal touch, making a fairly dull business trip into a pleasant couple of nights away. Truly first class service, and a lovely building and room into the bargain!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We came across this place by accident when looking for somewhere for a little weekend away, and we were soooo glad.

it is a beautiful place, hidden away in a really lovely little village,and we had a lovely warm welcome by Ron to what is a really wonderful building. We were put in the plantation view room which was just wonderful ... a little small perhaps, but it just felt cosy and lovely.

we ate elsewhere in the evening and so couldn't comment, but the breakfast the next morning was brilliant, and the service was exceptional.

and such good value too!

We couldn't fault this place at all, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton House

Address: Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colton House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Colton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton House Rugeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.