We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful House. Wonderful people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colton House

Save Saved
You added Colton House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colton House
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful House. Wonderful people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My Daughter and family stayed in Colton House the night before her wedding and the night after,
I cannot praise Colton House enough, wonderful house, superb gardens, wonderful rooms, wonderful people and glorious breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
100
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a charming B&B in a large historic house. The room I stayed in was large with a modern bathroom. Couples will really enjoy this place. Breakfast room is large. Nice garden out back. Wireless internet works well. No lift / elevator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

As we have family in the area, we have stayed at Colton House on several occasions over a period of four years.
The house itself is a period gem, set in a beautiful village & has its own superbly tended gardens.
Ron & Gay, the owners, go out of their way to make your stay memorable & it really feels like a home from home.
All the restoration on the house has been sympathetic and tasteful, and the bedrooms are all beautifully appointed.
The food is fresh (usually home-grown or locally sourced) and invariably excellent.
Without a doubt a stay at Colton House is an experience to be heartily recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The facilities cater for every requirement from four-poster luxury to smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the "Castle Howard" room on our wedding night. Ron & Gay could not do enough for us, they really made us feel like royalty! We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed here and the relaxing atmosphere created by the place and the surrounding gardens. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the beautifully presented Colton House for four nights whilst doing a photography workshop in the area. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a beautiful outlook over the surrounding gardens and countryside. Ron and Gay couldn't have been more helpful. They organised a local car rental and drove me to the station when it was time to leave.

I had a couple of excellent evening meals in the dining room, personally cooked by Ron using fresh local produce. Colton House is located in a quiet and peaceful area, down a pretty country lane.

Ron was ever attentive and informative, and always ready for a chat. I valued Ron and Gay's personal attention to detail.

I would much rather stay at venues such as Colton House than impersonal and sterile hotel accommodation, and will certainly stay again if I have the chance.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs, but I imagine that the back rooms have the best rural views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the 4 poster room for a night away. The owners can't do enough to make you feel welcome. We opted to have our evening meals there, the main course was presented to us accompanied by vegetables taken from the garden only an hour or so previous.
The garden is beautiful, and sitting there with a cool drink from the in-house bar is superb.
We've never stayed anywhere where the owners really go out of their way to make your stay personal, rather than being just another customer. It is a unique property, with every room decorated in a different theme. To end the trip, the breakfast was top notch and is served at whatever time suits you. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: the 4 poster is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Really is a Gem just as others have reviewed. Felt like we were just at a friends house, really friendly people, lovely welcome and really well looked after. Room was lovely and they personally showed us around so that we felt comfortable. Asked us what time we'd like breakfast. We popped out in the evening to come back and find our beds ready for sleep and chocolates left for us. Really nice people and nice place to stay, we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton House

Address: Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colton House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Colton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton House Rugeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.