We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst food I've eaten since 1976” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bull and Spectacles

Bull and Spectacles
Uttoxeter Road | Blithbury, Rugeley, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 55 Restaurants in Rugeley
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst food I've eaten since 1976”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited to view the Reindeer in a field behind the pub which we had been told about by a friend. We decided to stay and eat and ordered potato skins as a starter, roast beef Sunday dinner and chicken chasseur. It was about six o'clock on Sunday so not prime time for Sunday lunch. The starter was luke warm, grey, soft potato skins filled with extremely dry chicken mixture. Unable to eat more than a few mouthfuls we complained about how bad the food was. Next came the main courses, the roast beef was like thin shoe leather, yorkshire pudding a strange mix of undercooked but kept warm for what looked like several hours, roast potatoes had also been hanging about for hours. The only saving grace was the cauliflower cheese. If you are going to serve Sunday lunch all day you must be prepared to stagger the cooking and prepare fresh batches, not cook it all at 12 and keep it warm until 6. The chicken chasseur was equally bad with a strange flavour. There were people eating in the restaurant who seemed to be happy with the dated decor, flies hovering around the tables and the terrible food, they must have pretty low expectations. We were offered 50% discount on the food which we accepted but it still wasn't worth what we paid. Prices are cheap but the food still has to be edible, definitely a case of quantity over quality. I wouldn't go back if the food was free.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Proper Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you want proper food, and plenty of it you need to visit this pub. Ok, so to some people the décor may look a little tired and dated, but that just adds to the character of the place. We have been to this pub very often over the past two months and cannot fault the quality of the food, it is cooked to perfection, the lamb melts in your mouth, the vegetables taste like vegetables should taste like and you can tell that whoever is in that kitchen or runs that little pub is passionate about food. The service is great, staff are welcoming, informative and polite. If you have never been then go....if you want proper food, not chain crap. Well done, its a shame there are not more pubs like this one.
Also, if you go out of the back of the pub you will see goats and reindeers in the fields. Your children will love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have visited the Bull & Specs many of times over the past five years. The interior is traditional but appealing. It was a Saturday night so the Pub was busy and we were told that there were no 'mixed grills' available which has occurred on a number of times. Staff are very helpful. Toilets could be updated and menu could be expanded a little bit but overall a good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend. Despite worrying reviews decided to try it. Big mistake. Cold and tired interior. Steaks were leathery and flavourless,only time have ever been served over cooked chips! Left in less than an hour - will not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Successful but Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Below average, over cooked, boring food served in dining room desperately in need of redecoration. Others must disagree because it does a fabulous Sunday business.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull and Spectacles also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Bull and Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull and Spectacles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.