We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Windmill

Ye Olde Windmill
Windmill Lane, | Gentleshaw, Rugeley WS15 4NF, England
+44 1543 682468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in Rugeley
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A 16th Century country pub and restaurant with views over 4 counties We have been serving our customers for 30 years. Big open Log Fires and a warm friendly family atmosphere. Beer Gardens and patio areas by Crown Green Bowling green. All food homemade freshly cooked to order using the finest produce
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Once again we have had a very good meal value for money enough to satisfy any appetite. We would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    12
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Come when we say!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Did not visit this time, but have done on a number of previous occasions.

Tried booking for 7 people at 7.30pm on a Saturday evening. Was told come at 7pm and no need to book. Really, that is not what I wanted.

You have lost a loyal customer here, and one who make plenty of recommendations about you! I hope your arrogance is not your undoing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine4939, Owner at Ye Olde Windmill, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Sorry you felt you had to write a review on trip advisor although you didn't visit
At Ye Olde Windmill we do not take bookings it is our policy to serve our customers on a first come first served basis. My manager and staff are always on hand to accomodate our customers and would find you a table had you asked. My staff advised you of a time that you would have no problem getting a table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great friendly welcoming, pub / restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Called in today for late lunch, service was very welcoming, and the bar was dog friendly too , manager was really help ful and the food was excellent, will certainly be back for another visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Best In Staffordshire!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I would firstly like to say thankyou to all of the staff that showed us a warm welcome. The food was very good, it was hot, fresh and tasty! Something you dont normally get in a very busy Pub, but even though it was busy there was no slip in quality. The bar staff were very attentive and made sure everything was ok at all times. A credit to the owner!!

Thank you for a wonderfull meal. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine4939, Owner at Ye Olde Windmill, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I would like to say a big thank you for your very honest opinion of Ye Olde Windmill Inn. In all the 31 years I have owned the company myself and all my staff strive to give a 1st class service politeness to customers and serving good fresh homemade food freshly cooked to order only using the best produce. We serve some 2,000 meals per week and serve 4 generations of some families coming in regularly. My manager and staff will feel their job is worth while having lovely feed back. Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Are you local?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you are looking for a pit-stop I guess Ye Old Windmill would serve that purpose. I wouldn't go out of my way to visit, however. We were ignored by the barman as we walked in, and two locals were served ahead of us with plenty of chat. (I say we were ignored, one of the regulars gave us a good inspection - I had no idea we were so fascinating.) At this point we ought to have left, but we didn't know the area & were hungry. The bar was dark, a bit dingy in fact, but the lounge / restaurant area was better. The food was reasonably priced, but not cheap & I have had much better in far more pleasant surroundings. Servings were plentiful, however the veggie cottage pie was watery & the gravy lumpy - I expect better for eight quid. The table staff were polite & friendly, and just about made up for the frosty reception. Overall: underwhelming. Avoid.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Windmill also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Cannock, Staffordshire
 
Burntwood, Staffordshire
Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
 

Been to Ye Olde Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Windmill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.