We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Main Road | Brereton, Rugeley ws15 1eb, England
+44 1889 359842
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 55 Restaurants in Rugeley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went on Saturday 16th never again, we waited an hour for 4 meals, when they arrived asked for medium steaks they were well done and dry onion rings batter soft and fat on plate chips soft and mulsy, trio of chops dry and tastless. Excuse was the deep fat fryer had broken. Why didnt they tell us that when we ordered we could have picked another dish.
We complained and they took the price of the steaks off the bill together with free puddings, we didnt go oujt for a free meal just a nice one.
The staff were attentive but the food lets the place down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    10
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sizzling food at fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Decided to go out for an impromptu meal, was expecting to not be able to get in due to it being valentines weekend, but it was surprisingly quiet. Surprising as the food was excellent. Sizzling beef with prawns in a gorgeous sauce was my choice from the extensive menu. Will be going back, and hopefully others will go too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good midweek food fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went with friends on a bleak Wednesday in January. Met with polite and welcoming staff and giving full attention throughout our time there. Food was good (even the two for ten pounds deals) and plenty of variety in menu. Was not rushed, even when the room we were in became busy. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

was there friday with staff party and had the gammon. it came thrown on the plate and obviously precooked and kept warm in oven. the chips were greasy, onion rings and mushrooms cold the fried egg was the only fresh item on the plate. my manager had the xmas 3 course lunch but gave up on the pudding after 2 hours! sprouts were black, spuds cold and meat non discript. if its busy or your in a big party don't bother as they cannot cope

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Eating, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A good friendly pub / restaurant with a variety of well prepared restaurant and bar meals. The food is always well presented and served by the cheerful pleasant staff. In addition to the menu there is also a specials board. There are themed nights ie Thursday night is steak night. The sunday lunches are definitely worth a visit. If you want a good nosh that isn't too posh pop in in and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.