We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow End
Save
You added Willow End to your Saves list
Quarry Close | Slitting Mill, Rugeley WS15 2YB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Immaculately clean rooms, good nights sleep in very comfortable beds followed by excellent breakfast ,delightful hosts Tina and Glenn and a beautiful location. Simply the best B & B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you want a peaceful, relaxed and comfortable place to stay look no further! Glen and Tina are a lovely couple, and are very friendly and attentive hosts; I even got to see they're lovely wedding photos. The Thai food Tina makes is sublime and shouldn't be missed.

It's also ideally located near the Cannock chase MTB trails, being only a mile away, and the storage is secure, not like some places I have stayed that have made the same claim.

If I come back to Cannock I know exactly where to stay; Willow End!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a beautiful property every room is immaculate,breakfast was spot on and lovely host's Glen & Tina,couldn't wish for better place highly recommended,we was going to the moderation pub for a 50th birthday party and we got a taxi with in minutes as & one one back with no problem, my husband went a walk sunday morning and said it was outstanding just walking round the area so beautiful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is quite possibly the cleanest B and B i have ever encountered......no stop the press it is definitely the cleanest B and B possibly in the world !!! Tina and Glenn keep their home and the public areas absolutely spotless. The room was very good, the bed comfortable and the bathroom very well appointed. You have TV with DVD and a selection of DVDs and Books, toiletries etc. etc. they try and leave no stone unturned. As well as immaculately clean your hosts are helpful friendly and just plain charming. The location is also fabulous within a short walk or cycle ride to the forest. It also provides excellent value for money given the quality of service. If we could have given this place an Excellent rating we would if you could mark in half marks then it would have received 4.5.
So why not Excellent ? there were a few minor points which made are only mentioned to help future guests.
The bathroom is lovely but the space taken by the double shower means the rest of the bathroom is cramped and the small sink is only suitable for cleaning teeth. The King Size Bed is amazing but again leaves little room around it. The TV is too small my poor old eyes were straining !. Breakfast was nicely prepared but some elements were under cooked. if however you asked me to recommend this place it would be an unreserved yes it is a very good B and B run by very nice people. Just remember to take off your shoes when you get in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow E, Owner at Willow End, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear AdieNorfolk, We are genuinely pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay here with us at Willow End and thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are also very happy that you were pleased with the Willow End hygiene, facilities, location and our hospitality. We do encourage and thrive on feedback from our guests as I am sure we will have told you. However feedback can often be much more useful at the time instead of ‘after the event’ as that gives no opportunity to try change anything.
Willow End is fundamentally a family house that offers a high quality B&B service - as the majority of our Tripadvisor reviews will support. We are not a purpose built hotel so I am afraid that there is little we can do with the size of the rooms. If you had said that you required a larger bathroom then we could have moved you to a different room. The king size bed is designed to allow it to be split into two single beds so I'm afraid it's that that dictates the bed size – again we do have rooms available with smaller beds – That's why we put pictures of all our rooms and bathrooms are on our website. Sorry about the size of the TV - that is of course located in the bedroom where space will always be at a premium. I do however believe that Rugeley Travelodge and the Premier Inn have larger rooms and TV’s ?
As a professionally qualified chef Tina would certainly have liked to have had your ‘well done’ breakfast request at the time when she could have done something about it. Having said, that I do not recall there being very much left on either of your plates after breakfast.. :-)
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is top quality B&B. Beautiful bedroom with en-suite, everything you need for a relaxing nights stay - incredibly clean, lots of little extras and attention to detail. We used it just as a base for cycling at Cannock Chase (just up the road) but ended up really enjoying the B&B stay in itself! There is nothing negative to say, 10 out of 10 all round! We shall definately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherburn in Elmet, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Right on the edge of Cannock Chase, the location of this B&B could not have been more convenient after spending the day mountain biking around the forest. We arrived at Willow End within 5 minutes of leaving the Birches Valley car park.

The request to remove shoes on entering the B&B soons becomes logical as you enter the very well presented and kept house. Within the room were disposable slippers so you needn't walk around the house in only your socks. A very nice touch.

We stayed in the king size double room. The bed seemed huge but was very comfortable and snug. The en-suite with walk in large shower was fantastic and the provision of a TV with built in DVD player and an assortment of DVD's to choose from shelves on the landing a nice extra.

Breakfast quaility was in keeping with that of everything else, served at the the time we requested to a very high standard in a very traditional dining room.

We will certainly return for our next mountain biking trip to the area and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Execellent sorry we had only one night - extremely clean - beautiful double room en suite - your every need is supplied - excellent breakfast - full english - cereals - toast - coffe/tea a wonderful experience which should be tried !! we shall be returning very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willow End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow End

Address: Quarry Close | Slitting Mill, Rugeley WS15 2YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation located withing the AONB of Cannock Chase. Within walking distance of the Birches Valley Centre Activities, Mountain Biking and Go Ape etc. With a unique Thai evening meal menu for those who wish to eat in and local pubs/restaurants all within walking distance. Ideal for a peaceful, tranquil relaxing break or as a convenient stop over for business trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willow End Rugeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.