We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, wonderful food, excellent hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow End
Save
You added Willow End to your Saves list
Quarry Close | Slitting Mill, Rugeley WS15 2YB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, wonderful food, excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a party of cyclists making their way from Wales to Norfolk. Glenn and Tina were perfect hosts, provided a wonderful Thai dinner and the best breakfast of our week-long trip. The house is immaculate, the beds comfortable and Glenn and Tina couldn't have been more helpful. If I pass through Rugeley again, I know where I'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 via mobile

A wonderful pot of tea and warm welcome greeted us 6 weary cyclists as we completed day 4 of our pedal across the country. Glen and Tina made us feel very at home from the moment we set foot in their lovely home. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location for access to all the activities Cannock Chase has to offer. Their knowledge of the local area was very helpful, but no need for restaurant recommendations - if you stay you MUST try Tina home cooked, totally authentic Thai meals - they are better than anything you could get in a restaurant. Can't wait to go back and explore the area further and will definitely be rebooking at Willow End. Enjoy your stay with them...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

A short ,but very pleasant stay in Willow End. The accomodation is very clean, tidy and well appointed. Glenn was very helpful and friendly and more than willing to give us his knowledge of the local area. Breakfast was served at the time we requested and was given the thumbs up by all four of us including one who is a chef, perhaps we should have taken them up on the Thai evening meal as well, the food at the Pub/restaurant was not up to much. I presume Tina was responsible for the food, Thank you for a well cooked breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. Nice people, nice house and lovely countryside. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I've just returned from a weekend golf break with 3 friends. We chose to stay at Willow End having looked at the pervious recommendations and considered the chain hotels in Rugeley. I'm really pleased that we did opt for Willow End as we were well looked after by Glenn, who was very attentive and interested in what we needed. He booked taxis and recommended somewhere to eat. Advised us about golf in the area and mountain biking on Cannock Chase. The rooms were spotless and one friend would have liked to have taken his bed home, it was that comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day nicely. I'd definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Every detail of our stay at Willow End has been perfect, the house is decorated beautifully to a very high standard, which surpassed our expectations.

Glenn and Tina are the perfect hosts, as they are very friendly and approachable. It is clear that they would go out of their way to make their guests stay as enjoyable as possible, which ours was!

The Thai food was excellent, and is definitley another string to Willow End's bow. You get a sense of visiting a friend's home with this b&b which is lovely, the fresh flowers and scented candles, even pillow spray to aid your sleep, are lovely touches which makes it a special place to stay.

Cannot praise this place enough, thank you both for a lovely night :)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

A nice, warm and friendly welcome was given upon arriving with a real interest given. The room was lovely, modern and very comfortable. Very quiet surroundings were what we wanted and thats what we got. Extremely close to Cannock Chase.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stayed as a 'solo traveller' for a weekend whilst competing in the 'Hell in the Middle' event on Cannock Chase. Located in a modern house within a quiet cul-de-sac there was sufficient parking for my needs directly to the front. I was allocated a modern, clean, well appointed, en suite room. Glenn and Tina, the owners keep the house in pristine condition and I was very happy with the value for money I received. Breakfast was very good and there is a Thai food evening meal option. The location in Slitting Mill is excellent and Cannock Chase AONB, cycle hire, go ape, cafe etc are all located within a short walk. There is also a public house which serves food and is within a 5 minute walk. I would recommend staying at 'Willow End'.

Steve Jackson

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willow End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow End

Address: Quarry Close | Slitting Mill, Rugeley WS15 2YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation located withing the AONB of Cannock Chase. Within walking distance of the Birches Valley Centre Activities, Mountain Biking and Go Ape etc. With a unique Thai evening meal menu for those who wish to eat in and local pubs/restaurants all within walking distance. Ideal for a peaceful, tranquil relaxing break or as a convenient stop over for business trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willow End Rugeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.