We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lived up to expectation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn
Save
You added Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn to your Saves list
73 High Street | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
North West
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“lived up to expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Having chosen this pub as it was half way between friends homes, I was pleased to find it lived up to the reviews I had read. I had the room in the picture and it had all the comforts I required. A good meal very reasonably priced in the bar and breakfast cooked to order. A most enjoyable nights stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
38
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Alton Towers. Our teenage daughter and friend had a room with twin beds while we had a separate double room. Both rooms were very comfortable & we all slept very well. The food also was good and the service throughout the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on the weekend of 25/26 September, using the place as a base for a trip to Alton Towers (roughly 25 mins away by car). The inn itself is beautiful and very welcoming - much enhanced by a rooring log fire and a lovely little dog called Millie. The bedrooms are a decent size and very clean (the teenage girls were enchanted by the hideaway bed section in one of the rooms). The meals were excellent value for money: very large portions and beautifully cooked. The breakfasts also deserve a mention: the staff were keen to serve pretty much anything you requested. All in all, this is a fantastic place to stay in: well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Great stay. Lovely and clean, friendly staff and good value for money

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby and it ticked all of teh boxes. Great price, spotless rooms and a cracking breakfast too! Would deffo recommend if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

I have now stayed several times at Ye Olde Dun Cow. It offers a very warm welcome from the owners & staff. The rooms are very spacious with en suite facilities, relaxed seating, TV & a desk for those of us who have to work some evenings! Fresh towels & toiletries are provided along with tea & coffee making facilities.
The bar offers a wide range of drinks including real ales and provides plenty of relaxed seating with a wonderful real fire for those cold winter nights.
Within the bar is a seperate dining area. There is a wide and varied food menu which should cater for every need. The food is all home cooked and of a very high standard.
A full English breakfast is included in the £45 for the room.
I would recommend staying here to anyone who values a traditional country pub which provides excellent accomodation, food & a very warm & friendly welcome.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

I arranged a weekend away with 4 friends mountainbiking at cannock forest. Having read reports on tripadvisor, we decided to book Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn.
We were certainly not dissapointed. The owner and staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had lunch and breakfast at the Inn both of which were very nice.
Unfortunately we decided to go in to Rugeley for dinner and a few drinks, so missed having dinner in the pub- but the menu did look good and specials board tempting.
The rooms were clean, tidy and well decorated.
Should we ever venture to the area again, I would have no hesitation in booking accomodation and eating at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Rooms were a bit chilly when we arrived
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn

Address: 73 High Street | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at the excellently situated Dun-Cow Inn in Colton, Staffordshire. This charismatic inn is home to not only a bed & breakfast, but a charming old English pub with an idyllic beer garden. Surrounded by green countryside, this inn boasts log fires and a relaxing atmosphere, where the comfort of the guests is the main concern. Whether you are visiting nearby Alton Towers or would enjoy walking in the beautiful Cannock Chase, Ye Olde Dun-Cow Inn offers a delightful atmosphere and the best in Staffordshire hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dun Cow Hotel Rugeley
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn Rugeley, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.