We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Unicorn Inn

The Unicorn Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Unicorn Inn to your Saves list
The Unicorn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

stayed here for the weekend and it was very nice. Lovely little village, lovely little pub. We stayed in the cottage, we had rooms 5 and 6 (2 couples) our room, room 6 was huge, double bed, sofa bed and a pull out single bed so there is plenty of room for a family. The room was very clean and the bed comfy, Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We did not have an evening meal here but the menu looked great. The place has just been taken over by new management and she is lovely. Our first night was a little noisy as a staff party was going on but by 12.30 all had quietened (and we were assured that it was a one off). only criticism is that the smoking area for the pub is right next door to the cottage which causes an issue for non smokers to walk past and again the noise on the first night was a bit of an issue.

Room Tip: the rooms on the cottage are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
25
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here with friends for the weekend, and it was just brilliant, the food and the rooms are really nice, and you could not fault the breakfast,plenty of it and tasty, the staff are the best, they are very polite and cant do enough for you, one of the waitresses called Megan was lovely, as so was the rest of them, they made a good weekend the best, will definatly come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very good value on the 2 for the price of 1 deal, room pleasant ,breakfast good quality and well cooked, pub steak meal great value. and a good choice of bar meals. nice helpful staff. In typical english village next to the old forge. On the main road but no problem as double glazed. good free car parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms are dirty. This is a fact. The bathroom had a blind that was hanging off it runners. The bedroom had cobwebs from the light fittings over the bed, that were themselves thick with dust. The carpet had not seen a vacuum prior to my arrival; it also gave off a smell of something rather unpleasant in places.

The sheets were clean though, as were the towels; although anything less than clean in these two departments and it’s leaving time.

Whilst I accept that it’s not the Ritz and nor is the price, there can never be any excuse for poor hygiene.

Food in the pub is acceptable and the beer fresh and well kept. A decent breakfast is served in the pub also.

Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed along with 4 other couple when attending a wedding at a local golf course. Arrived to a warm welcome and at what is a very well appointed country inn. Our room (6) was excellent and the staff were friendly throughout. Has a good breakfast to finish a very enjoyable stay. Superb value at £60.00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed her for two nights in room 6 what a delight it was lovely friendly pub in quiet village our room was clean and large which i think would take a king size bed as it was only a double and my partner is 6ft 6 but we snuggled up lol considering it in a small country village place it was busy each night so it must be good the food was outstanding I would stay again anytime thank Paul Becky and Rob the chef x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Don't stop in the other hotel in this village. You will be disappointed and pay for it.
This is a great pub with lovely food and all you need for a night away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.4 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#1 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Address: Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Inn Newton Solney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Unicorn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.