We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old house, old furnishings, old everything, but tatty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park to your Saves list
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old house, old furnishings, old everything, but tatty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I certainly appreciate smaller, older hotels, but only if they are well kept and have character. Unfortunately this one was just old, oh and yes, small. But it was just a tired old house with worn furnishings and local young (untrained) staff. Bathroom was a mess, poorly conceived and poorly cleaned. The basics are also missing....wifi didn't work anywhere except in the bar.
Sorry, not worth using again....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I was sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. With regards the wifi, we are due to have an upgrade to our bandwidth in late January which will enable us to offer wifi throughout the hotel; however, internet access if available throughout the hotel currently through hard wired connections. As the Hotel is grade 2 listed, our decor is in keeping with this in mind. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    64
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
43
62
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Brilliant stay. I travel a lot for business but this hotel had the service of a small boutique hotel. Rooms are good and very comfortable. Grounds are immaculate. Wifi is poor on upper floors but good speed in bar area. Food good quality. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this review. I have passed your comments on to the team as they take great encouragement for hearing such good feedback. I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to the Newton Park.
Thanks again
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My thanks to Mel (Duty Manager), Grant (Barman) and Nena in the restaurant who made our stay fabulous. The food in the restaurant was very good with a good selection from the menu and a wide selection of wines.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I have passed your thanks on to Mel, Grant and Nena and the comments regarding the food on to the Kitchen team. The team strive to make everyone's stay memorable and receiving feedback like this will give them great encouragement. I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed as passing through and needed a bed. Staff were superb. Room very dated and very average. Food average but nice. Slightly over priced for what we had. Please tell breakfast staff to smile. Don't really enjoy having my breakfast dumped in front of me by older lady.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I was pleased to read you found the staff superb with the exception of breakfast. I have have asked my Food and Beverage Manager to address this with the individual concerned. We are currently undergoing a review with our new owners and hope to be implementing a refurbishment programme in the near future to update our bedrooms. I hope if you are passing through the area again you will stay with us once more.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Invited to a friends wedding This was an excellent choice for this all day ceremony, grounds and hotel create a relaxed and happy atmosphere. Very professional and friendly staff, wedding breakfast and evening buffet very good .Stayed overnight, bedroom clean and comfortable.
Looking forward to another wedding at this hotel, any offers !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. The team here take great encouragement from such reviews. If no one is forthcoming with another wedding invite why not come for a weekend break as there is lots to do in the area - the National Brewery Centre, Alton Towers, and much more! Thank you again for this great review and we hope it is not too long before you return.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wanted to say what a wonderful lunch we had today at the Newton Park. ALL staff very plesant and what a great chef he/she must be. The hotel is very clean & friendly would highly recommend a stay at the hotel or just a nice meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. I will ensure all the team read your comments as they take great encouragement hearing such reviews as they strive to make everyone's experience at the Hotel a good one. I hope it won't be long before you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.