We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay made perfect by outstanding staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Save Saved
You added Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ., Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newton Solney
1 review
“Awesome stay made perfect by outstanding staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My thanks to Mel (Duty Manager), Grant (Barman) and Nena in the restaurant who made our stay fabulous. The food in the restaurant was very good with a good selection from the menu and a wide selection of wines.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I have passed your thanks on to Mel, Grant and Nena and the comments regarding the food on to the Kitchen team. The team strive to make everyone's stay memorable and receiving feedback like this will give them great encouragement. I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    53
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
38
49
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed as passing through and needed a bed. Staff were superb. Room very dated and very average. Food average but nice. Slightly over priced for what we had. Please tell breakfast staff to smile. Don't really enjoy having my breakfast dumped in front of me by older lady.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. I was pleased to read you found the staff superb with the exception of breakfast. I have have asked my Food and Beverage Manager to address this with the individual concerned. We are currently undergoing a review with our new owners and hope to be implementing a refurbishment programme in the near future to update our bedrooms. I hope if you are passing through the area again you will stay with us once more.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Invited to a friends wedding This was an excellent choice for this all day ceremony, grounds and hotel create a relaxed and happy atmosphere. Very professional and friendly staff, wedding breakfast and evening buffet very good .Stayed overnight, bedroom clean and comfortable.
Looking forward to another wedding at this hotel, any offers !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. The team here take great encouragement from such reviews. If no one is forthcoming with another wedding invite why not come for a weekend break as there is lots to do in the area - the National Brewery Centre, Alton Towers, and much more! Thank you again for this great review and we hope it is not too long before you return.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wanted to say what a wonderful lunch we had today at the Newton Park. ALL staff very plesant and what a great chef he/she must be. The hotel is very clean & friendly would highly recommend a stay at the hotel or just a nice meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. I will ensure all the team read your comments as they take great encouragement hearing such reviews as they strive to make everyone's experience at the Hotel a good one. I hope it won't be long before you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our daughters wedding at this venue was fab, everyone enjoyed themselves, setting was beautiful with lovely weather. All staff were very attentive and Tom the toastmaster was so helpful. Could not fault the food, it was an amazing day, thank you Newton Park.

The Mitchell family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you to the Mitchell family for taking the time and trouble to post this review. The team at the Newton Park are pleased to hear that you had a good day and hope it is not too long before they get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Lovely wedding venue and hotel in beautiful surroundings. Lovely interior with oak panelling, stained glass windows with a very relaxed atmosphere.. The staff were attentive, polite and happy. Cannot fault the customer service or anything really. Food and drink on the expensive side but the food was certainly worth it. Overall good price for the comfortable room. Our room being at the back and was very quiet. The wedding was very well organised and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Definitely hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post this fantastic review. I have passed your feedback on to the team who will take great encouragement from this. I hope it is not too long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

my brother and his fiancee choose Newton park hotel as their wedding venue we as some of the wedding party stopped the night before, when we got there the hotel was in full swing with a other party and was very very full!! Our receptionist Louise was great nothing was too much trouble even though she was busy we didnt feel rushed and from the start was made to feel veery welcome!! we had a family deluxe suite and it didnt disapoint the beds were clean and comfortable everything was luvly. we got up the next moring and went for breakfast tammy (now sis in law) her mom and cousin was there we allwanted to sit together the waiting on staff moved tables so that could happen which was very thoughtful at breakfast there was eveerything you could want different fruit juices cereals danish pastries fresh and dried fruits with all different cooked breakfasts we could not fault this. i had asked at reception as we was having our daughters friend stopping in our room as he was part of the wedding but there wasnt a bed we got back up to the room after breakfast and there was a bed in there made up thank you louise for sorting this everything was great getting ready the bride to be was in the garden room so much space reception would phone and let us know when flowers, cake had arrived nothing was too much trouble.The wedding itself was fantastic Tom the toast master was wonderful so professional even down to a drink of water for the bride before the ceremony the grounds for the photos was amazing stunningly beautiful!! the food was excellent for the wedding breakfast i had the pate pork and lemon tart the presentation was second to none and just a picture on a plate this hotel didnt just make my brother and new wifes big day special but for all our friends and families it was simply amazing!! Louise on reception tom the toast master everyone that i cant name thank you we all cant wait to come back!! NEWTON PARK HOTEL is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review, it is much appreciated by all the team who take great encouragement from such lovely compliments. I have passed on your thanks to Louise and Tom in particular and have shared your review with the whole team. I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to the Mercure Newton Park Hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: ., Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.