We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Could Want” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daintry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Daintry to your Saves list
The Daintry
5 Daintry Street, Leek ST13 5PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Leek B&B and Inns
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything You Could Want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The landlady is absolutely fantastic and can't do enough for you! We stayed in the king-sized bedroom, which was spacious and the shower was great! The location is fantastic for a stroll in to Leek or it's only a 20 minute drive in to the heart of the Peak District. Overall, highly recommended for a break away! Thank you for making our trip fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was light and airy, beds very comfortable and location perfect for either driving to local attractions or walking into town. Breakfast very tasty and a wide choice available. Parking absolutely not an issue - assuming you don't turn up in a fleet of juggernauts! Owner very friendly and accommodating, and clearly on to a winner with this enterprise. Recommend 100%. Smashing home-made marmalade too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I regularly stay at The Daintry. It is clean, friendly and great value for money.

It is centrally located for all you need in Leek.

The landlady goes that extra mile for whatever you need.

All three rooms are lovely. They each have their own character. They include tea/ coffee/ biscuits and fresh milk.

There is a wide variety of choice for breakfast from a full English to local muffins or fruit.

If you are visiting Leek it would be a shame not to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our night at the Daintry. The room was spacious, spotless and full of lovely things that made it feel so much nicer than other hotels and B&Bs we've stayed in. Nice touches like bottled water and lovely fresh milk were much appreciated, plus our breakfast was lovely. We loved it- looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just arrived home after a 1 night stay in The Daintry.
What a little gem of a place.
Immaculate room. lovely and quiet with only having 3 rooms.
Fresh milk not nasty UHT which is a refreshing change.
Ideal location for visting the Staffordshire Moorlands.
Breakfast was top notch and served in a lovely breakfast room.
Friendly owner who went out of her way to accommodate us.. cant say much more highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

When you find an establishment which is very good it's natural to be torn between keeping it a secret or singing it's praises. I don't think it's going to be possible to keep this place a secret for long so here comes the positive review! Very high quality establishment throughout, excellent breakfast both in choice and quality. Quite location. Of special note is the well thought out use of vintage furniture and crockery. As a result his is a mid century classics fans dream hotel. This will very soon be recognised as the No 1 in Leek and as they only have three rooms I expect to be disappointed by availability as word spreads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on Thursday evening and although we arrived after check in it was not an issue at all. We were happily welcomed and shown to our room.

Our room was lovely and spacious with an en suite shower room, and huge kingsize bed, in which we both got a great sleep both nights. The wedding that we were attending was a short distance away by taxi, but on the first night we went to the town centre which was a five minute walk away, and sampled some real ale in the local pubs.

Breakfast was great both days (full English on day 1, scrambled egg and salmon on day 2) with plenty of additional juice, fresh fruit and cereals provided as well.

All in all I would recommend staying at the Daintry. It might be newly opened but they are off to a great start, the staff were great and provided a fantastic and enjoyable stay. I would stay here again over a Travelodge any time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Daintry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daintry

Address: 5 Daintry Street, Leek ST13 5PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daintry is a family run Bed and Breakfast offering quality ensuite accommodation in Leek, a market town close to the Roaches on the edge of the Peak District National Park.Opened in spring 2013, The Daintry offers recently renovated en-suite rooms with comfortable beds and quality linen.We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Daintry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daintry Leek, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daintry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.