We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real home cooked food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion

The White Lion
Macclesfield Road, Leek, England
01538 398823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Leek
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cheddleton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“real home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A lot of places often advertise home cooked food which actually turns out to be prepacked. However we recently visited the White Lion in Leek which advertises Home cooked food and i can honestly say the food was excellent it was all home cooked as advertised.I had the Chicken with Stilton and it was excellent very tasty and the home made chips where beautiful.I would recommend the White Lion to anyone who wants real home cooked food.All the staff are very helpful and friendly and the owner Kelvin is very hands on and has a very good knowledge of wine and his recommendations are excellent. A excellent dining experience well done to the White Lion you have achieved what a lot of places try to but fail

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin2206, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor for us, we are very pleased you enjoyed the Chicken & Stilton ( Chicken el Stilt ) with Homemade chips and found it to be very tasty its one of our popular signature dishes from our Restaurant menu, and always pleases our customers. All our food is quality Homemade by our chef at all times.
Hope to see you soon.

Kelvin Michelle and The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    25
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous food and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Our meals were all beautiful and very good value for money. We didn't have to wait long for our meals and the portions were very good sizes. We will definitely be going again and will recommend The White Lion to all our friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin2206, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the excellent revue you have placed on Tripadvisor for us.
We have provided the Homemade Sunday Roast for the past 13 years sinced ive owned The White Lion, and been proud to say its all Homemade given the Yorkshire Puds like your mum makes . Customers say its excellent value Two courses for £7.95 for delicious homemade food which they could not cook it for that price.

We hope to see you soon again at The White Lion.

kelvin Michelle and The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a relief that a hotel not far away (with a horrid looking menu) weren't serving on Bank holiday Monday and we ended up finding this place! We had a lovely meal here :) Despite the inviting varied menu, I had cod, chips and mushy peas as it was just what I needed after our 15 mile walk!!! It was really so lovely with breadcrumbs instead of batter :) :) My boyfriend had the chicken and chorizo special and this was also fab with the yummy home made chips. I had no room for dessert but had to have one anyway after reading 'home made amaretto and cherry cheesecake' on the menu. I was a little worried it may be a let down (I'm uber-fussy about cheesecakes which are often disappointing when eating out) BUT IT WAS SOOOOOOOOOO perfect and totally home made. Decor nice and cosy, staff lovely. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin2206, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor for us. Sorry to hear your Hotel stay was not so good but glad you found us and it improved your stay in the area .It was a very busy day on Bank Holiday Monday so Im glad all your food was perfect for you. The Chicken and Chorizo has been a big hit on our specials board and received excellent feedback from all the diners.

Hope that if you ever visit the area again, you will pay us a visit.

Kelvin Michelle and The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & a very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We called in here on the tripadvisor recommendation on a quiet Friday lunchtime. We had baguette, chips and salad out in the garden, there was an extensive range of baguette fillings, and delicious home made chips!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin2206, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review in tripadvisor. Glad you enjoyed the baguette of your choice , yes we like to offer a large range of fillings for the lunchtime baguette to serve everyones taste, and the Homemade chips are something we truly believe are the best in the local area, as that is what our customers tell us.

Hope to see you dine with us again soon.

Kelvin Michelle and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, great playground and garden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on tripadivsor when driving locally. Lovely food, very good value sunday roast, good kids menu with all the usual but lovely made (we had the beefburgers, fresh lovely not frizen fodder). Wife had the statesmen fillet and cleaned the plate. Great playground and plenty of seats if u need place where the kids will entertain themselves. Anyway dont hesitate. Only downside was wasps in the garden so go inside when u eat maybe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin2206, Manager at The White Lion, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review Im glad your kids enjoyed the play area, and your wife enjoyed her Statesman fillet. We do pride ourselves on serving top quality and locally food where possible.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Kelvin Michelle and The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.