We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not where you think it is...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cloves Indian Cuisine

Cloves Indian Cuisine
Ashbourne Road (A523) | Bottomhouse, Leek ST13 7QN, England
01538 304 249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 72 restaurants in Leek
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian fusion, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We specialise in fine dining, yet authentic indian cuisine dishes to the local area in Leek, close by villages and surroundings. Offering great speciality dishes and new indian fusion dishes. Wide range of drinks selection and unheard of wines for those who want to experience something new and interesting. Warm and friendly atmosphere from staff members with great knowledge and experience in the Indian restaurant trade.* * * * Coming Soon!!.... * * * *Online website (under construction) with new updates and recent feeds from the Restaurant. An updated menu will be released for takeaways and dining in experience. Be sure to check back with us in order to try out our exciting new and popular dishes!!!
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's not where you think it is...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not a review, just a correction to it's location; it isd NOT on the outskirts of Leek, it is ~ 3 miles out of leek, at Bottomhouse, where the Ipstones/Onecote road crosses thwe Leek/Ashbourne road.

I would have corrected this in the address section, but a badly coded web-apge means that pressing the Delete key (useful if you want to remove some text and type some newe stuff) while on the 'City' field, causes my broweser to jump several pages back.

So, good news if you're in Onecote, Waterhouses or Bottomhouse, not so goo if you're in the East End of Leek and thought you could walk round the corner to the Restaurant...

I haven't visted or eaten here - just trying to get the map updated !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    26
    12
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have had takeaways from here on a number of occasions, the most recent was last week. Always they have been excellent untill tonight. The 1st mouthfull and a very disappointed reaction!. Very tastless and watery. Got the impression that they were trying too hard to save money! I don't know what happened. Have they got a relief chef? I hope so. The staff are friendly and owner is very keen to make a go of it and is full of new ideas. It would be a shame for it to go the way of so many other places. Apparently there is a revamp of the menu and a website on the way so hopefully they will address the reduction in quality of the food. Will give it another go sometime as it is the only take away within 8 miles of where we live but even that will not keep our custom if the food is as disappointing as it was tonight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Great service, very friendly, and very tasty food. Cannot fault anything, loved it and will be using again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We eat at Cloves using a Groupon voucher. The staff were really welcoming, good choice of dishes on the menu, we had starters, main courses and naan breads, all the food was fantastic, really fresh and tasty. We will definitely be returning to Cloves without a voucher, and would not hesitate to recommend the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another super meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just had another great takeaway from Cloves. It's always ready so quickly and is great quality. Lovely fresh onion bhajis and chicken pakoras, followed by 2 lovely main courses which were fresh and tasty as ever. Glad to have this as our local!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloves Indian Cuisine also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Cloves Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloves Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.