We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cloves Indian Cuisine

Cloves Indian Cuisine
Ashbourne Road | Bottomhouse, Leek ST13 7QN, England
+44 1538 304249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 81 Restaurants in Leek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Indian, Asian fusion, Halal, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cloves Indian Cuisine is a fine dining Indian Restaurant & Take Away based in Bottomhouse Village close to Leek & Ashbourne Town in Staffordshire. We have visitors/diners all across the UK as we are situated in Staffordshire's finest countryside locations near Buxton and the Peak District. We are also 10-15 minutes drive away from Alton Towers which attracts many other visitors that want to try out for an indian meal. Cloves Indian Cuisine offer the finest and rarest Indian dishes available in today's standards, yet authentic indian cuisine dishes to the local area of leek,close by villages and surroundings. We also offer unique special dishes, one-of-a-kind Tandoori Grills, the very best and exclusive drinks selections that can only be revealed when visiting the restaurant and for those who want to experience something new and interesting. Our service towards customers are second to none and we ensure that everyone has a unique and memorable experience from our staff members. They obtain great knowledge and experiences in the Indian Restaurant Trade. The provide a warm and friendly atmosphere that is fully appreciated and diners truly experience a very different, out-of-the-way countryside location, which makes it more of a special occasion! Diners visit us as guests, but stay with us as friends and family.
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have had takeaways from here on a number of occasions, the most recent was last week. Always they have been excellent untill tonight. The 1st mouthfull and a very disappointed reaction!. Very tastless and watery. Got the impression that they were trying too hard to save money! I don't know what happened. Have they got a relief chef? I hope so. The staff are friendly and owner is very keen to make a go of it and is full of new ideas. It would be a shame for it to go the way of so many other places. Apparently there is a revamp of the menu and a website on the way so hopefully they will address the reduction in quality of the food. Will give it another go sometime as it is the only take away within 8 miles of where we live but even that will not keep our custom if the food is as disappointing as it was tonight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Great service, very friendly, and very tasty food. Cannot fault anything, loved it and will be using again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We eat at Cloves using a Groupon voucher. The staff were really welcoming, good choice of dishes on the menu, we had starters, main courses and naan breads, all the food was fantastic, really fresh and tasty. We will definitely be returning to Cloves without a voucher, and would not hesitate to recommend the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Another super meal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just had another great takeaway from Cloves. It's always ready so quickly and is great quality. Lovely fresh onion bhajis and chicken pakoras, followed by 2 lovely main courses which were fresh and tasty as ever. Glad to have this as our local!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dave B First visit to the Cloves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have past the Cloves Indian Restaurent several times I thought we would give it a try, it was Friday evening and thought it may be reasonably busy, just the opposite we were the only one's there. The place has been updated and is quite nice, the staff were polite, the quality off the food was reasonable but that is about the only rating I would offer it. Two members of staff came and sat a few tables from us and had a meal, after they finished one of the members of staff asked if our meal was ok and I said it was ok, he replied, I am asking because we have just had a meal and it was not upto the standard we expext and have told the chef so! Not quite the comment you would expect from a member of staff and only enforced my opinion the food is only "ok". After finishing our main course we were asked if we would like anything else, I requested a glass of water, we never got it! When we realised this was not forth coming we decided to leave. My sumary on the Cloves based on this visit is, food quality reasonable, expensive for what is it, service needs improving, would I return, definalety not, there are far better restauarents offering better food and service, and without having to travel here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloves Indian Cuisine also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Cloves Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloves Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.