We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful bar in Leek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Den Engel

Den Engel
23 Saint Edward street, Leek, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 78 Restaurants in Leek
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Belgian bar
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most wonderful bar in Leek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have visited Den Engles several times now, indeed it has become a preferred evening destination when out for a quiet drink with friends, although I have yet to sample their food (I will in time).

The bar itself is something that you would expect to find on the continent, not in a sleepy market town in the peak district. The range of beers on offer is truly impressive, certainly extensive, with something to suit every palate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“found a gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We live in leek yet I had never eat here .beautiful simple menu with locally sourced food .no rush to leave table .great selection of drinks .relaxed surroundings .very reasonable prices .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love this bar, lovely atmosphere and huge variety of beers. Not the usual sort so something a little different. Great court yard for those lazy summer after work beers! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great range of continental beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Excellent range of beers and a lovely layout and feel downstairs. Lovely staff :-) Sometimes a bit rowdy, but never overly so!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good choice of beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We always choose to pop into Den Engel when we are in Leek. There is a wide selection of Belgium beers and the atmosphere is always good. Staff are always pleasant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Engel also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Den Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Den Engel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.