We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cock Inn

Cock Inn
Derby Street, Leek, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 81 Restaurants in Leek
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Fantastic Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Absolutely fantastic pub, stopped here for a drink on our way for a curry, bar staff were extremely friendly + helpful, after talking to them we ended up with a Reserved table for a meal + they also reserved where we had been sitting in the bar area (front row seats) as the was a blues band on (Midnight Magic) brilliant, food was amazing, my husband said best steak he had ever had, sea bass was Devine, all in all so glad my husband decided one more drink before the curry, would definately recommend this pub, food better than any restaurant and at much better prices, even without special offers on

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lot36, Owner at Cock Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Well Dizzy,It was a pleasure to meet you both,certainly somebody as enthusiastic(and vocal) about music as your husband,he does enjoy a good time doesn`t he? The food offer is on from thursday to sunday lunchtime 2 courses for £10 and we are pleased you enjoyed,the pub,the food and the music. It was a good night the band were on form weren`t they? See you next time you`re passing through give us a ring on 01538 388013 and we`ll keep a table for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly town pub with tasty food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times for lunch and always leave very satisfied. You get a warm welcome on entry from the bar staff who are very efficient and friendly. There are a variety of different types of seating areas to suit your needs. The food has always been served quickly and if something off the menu has sold out a suitable and tasty alternative has been offered. The sandwiches are delicious served on crusty bread with a great filling and fresh side salad. We also had chips which are home made and really tasty. I would definitely recommend it and would like to try an evening meal in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lot36, Owner at Cock Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Why thank you Natalie what a lovely review.We`re pleased you enjoy visiting here and that you like the food,I`ll tell Jonathan as soon as I get downstairs,I`m writing a new menu at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average town pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Average sort of town pub. Decor smart and tidy. Bar staff do their job but wouldn't say particularly friendly. Every time I've been in there it's been very quiet with some dodgy Frank Sinatra music playing. The food is ok, pretty average really. Had a family meal one lunchtime and they said there wasn't baked beans?? In summary if your after a quick and quiet pint it's ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lot36, Owner at Cock Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Matthew S,Thank for your review and I am pleased you found our decor pleasing and the staff efficient.I must apologise for playing dodgy Frank Sinatra on your previous visits,you have been most unfortunate as we only have 3 of his tracks on 8 days of iPod.If you could be more specific regarding which member of staff you thought was unfriendly I shall ask them if they remember your visit and why they should have been so,regarding the fact that there `wasn`t any baked beans`we cannot supply all the dietary needs of our customers but we shall buy a tin and keep them ready for you and your family.Thanks again for recommending us for a quiet and quick pint,it`s what we`re here for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne,
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“What a Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We called in the Cock Inn for a drink and to listen to a band that we new were playing
The beer was great the staff were very friendly and helpfull
We were asked if we would like to stay for a meal as they had a special offer on to promote the new chef. We had already booked a table on the strength of the reviews on trip advisor but didnt realise it was three courses for £10
Well it was a struggle to eat it all but none of us wanted to leave any food as it was so good.
I dont think they will have any trouble filling the restaurant when the prices are the normal ones as it was one of the best pub meals we have had.
The Landlord was 10 out of 10 too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lot36, Owner at Cock Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor,it was a pleasure to hear that you all enjoyed your meal and evening here with us at The Cock Inn and we look forward to seeing you this saturday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Beer, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

With friends in the Peak District at a family function this weekend, where could we meet, en route back to their home in Cornwall, Leek - the Cock Inn looked a suitable venue, a Joule's house. Having been round their brewery in Market Drayton - an excellent tour incidentally, I was not disappointed with the beers on offer. On a damp day, we walked in to a warm welcome and chatting over our beer, we decided to give the food a try. Our friends had not tried Staffordshire Oatcakes and on our recommendation had cheese and bacon. They were not disappointed, a pair of oatcakes for each arrived, well filled, tasty and good value for money. Will we go back again if we are in Leek - certainly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lot36, Owner at Cock Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for recent review on Trip Advisor it was a pleasure to meet and we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock Inn also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.