We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now called Abdul Spice - mixed experiences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bolaka Spice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bolaka Spice
Stockwell Street | Leek, Leek, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 78 Restaurants in Leek
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Now called Abdul Spice - mixed experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've eaten here several times and sometimes it's very good but at other times the service and seating arrangements let it down - although the food is normally good. This week the drinks were the main problem. We ordered a pint of Cobra and a double gin and tonic - at a cost of £8.50. The gin and tonic came ready poured so we couldn't adjust how strong we wanted it and - even worse - we couldn't taste any gin in it. We asked the waitress and she took it away (no apology), returning it saying that they had only put a single gin in it (even though we clearly ordered a double) so she's now added another single (but still no apology). This time we could taste gin, but it still wasn't strong. If we go again (which is unlikely) we'll ask for the gin and the tonic to be seperate, so we can see that we're getting what we are paying quite a lot for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    6
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“leek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

another good place t eat in a very small town, the portion size is huge. the staff tidy and presentable and always willing to help

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling service, do NOT order take away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We were staying locally, was told that wait was 45 minutes, this was at 8.30 at night. We had been recommended this place by some locals. After 1 hour phoned and asked where our order was and was told the driver was on his way he would be 5 mins. We waited outside the gate to our site for another half hour and still no sign of a delivery. Again made a phone call and was told the drive was 5 mins away, waited a further 15 minutes, phoned and was told 5 minutes away. Again called 15 minutes later, was told 5 mins. At 10.45 phoned and said forget order! The guy on the end of the phone was arguing about costs of food they had prepared, we explained that the 70 pound order included 2 meals for children who were actually now in bed and had not eaten. He offered to bring some food out to us personally but after 2 hours and 15 mins we told him politely not acceptable. The idiot turned up at 11.00 and phoned to say he had arrived. We politely told him that we had now had a cheese sandwich and again said food was not needed. He was extremely rude in trying to say we were wasting his food and time! Order at your own peril!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Restaurant is fairly small but has a good atmosphere. We have been twice now and both times the service was a little slow, but it is worth the wait.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onecote Leek
1 review
“Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Food just lovely - service excellent.
Often go for a take away, always reliable.
Very enjoyable - great atmosphere on Saturday night.
Leek's best!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolaka Spice also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Bolaka Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolaka Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.