We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice unspoilt village pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Trout

The Lazy Trout
Meerbrook, Leek, England
1538 300385
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Leek
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Their phone number is 01538 300 385 Post code ST13 8SN
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice unspoilt village pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This seemed a very pleasant unpretentious village pub with a cosy fire in one room and a clear invitation to bring dogs and muddy boots into the bar. The pub seemed very keen to promote locally sourced food on the menu. They were offering line caught trout from Carsington Water with herbs and fennel for 11.95 on the Specials board. The main menu had steak from Redferns of Buxton. My husband had this and I tasted some. It was really delicious as were the chunky fries he had with them. Also on the menu were Ham and Eggs and Hope Valley Ice Cream. Some interesting sandwiches on offer. Unfortunately I chose Rigatoni with a mushroom sauce which involved Shropshire Blue cheese. I found it too strong and very salty tasting and couldn't eat a lot of it. So that was disappointing. However, there was a nice selection of beers a local brewery Wincle Undertaker and Life of Reilly. Both nice. Marston's Pedigree and Banks. The pub seemed very popular with good parking. There were a stack of games I noticed in the area which seemed more for families. I enjoyed this lunch time visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal today Sunday 5th May with my two children for my Mothers Birthday, the food was extremely disappointing, this place has really gone down hill. We were in the main pub about mid afternoon along with a few locals, they all seemed very drunk & language was dreadful, the person behind the bar did not say anything to them and even seemed to find it funny. (This is not the sort of pub you take a young family or your parents to) - as previous people have commented, I should have looked on the council 'RATE MY PLACE' web site first, I was very shocked to see a '0' food rating. It is such a shame because this pub used to be quite nice & I remember you would have to book weeks in advance just to get a table - this is not the case any more and I would recommend you give this place a wide birth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Possibly one of the best pubs my partner and I have eaten in for a long time. The bar staff are lovely and welcoming, there's a great selection of ales and the food is delicious. I had the lamb curry which was full of flavour and one of the best currys iv had in a while. Reading through some of the other comments I wouldn't knock it until you've actually tried it. We were left overly impressed!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“See local authority review before visiting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Visitors would be best advised to read food & hygiene report done by the local authority in Feb 2013 on the rate my place website before visiting this pub

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“grubby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The first impression is that it seems to need a good spring clean with pictures on the wall sporting broken frames with nails protruding, scuffed walls and plaster coming away. Even the lamp shades are dusty and wonky which gives an air of unkempt. the menu is odd. Big preocupation with beef dishes. Last visit the menu consisted of mostly beef or veggie options with little else. One mains was Ox tail soup. As I said the menu is odd.
It is popular though so some must enjoy. They seem to expect travellers who pop in to have pre ordered their food, which again is odd.
The wait can be excessive, we had to wait over an hour, for food that just was not special enough to merit such a wait. A bland lamb curry (not fancied but one of the rare not beef options)and equally bland fish (allegedly the something special of the day but wasnt special at all)with steamed veg. Has been better but currently I dont find it worth sitting in a rather dingy place for over an hour waiting for ok food. Some of the bar staff are lovely and friendly but the kitchen needs quicker turnaround and to understand that there is more to a good menu than beef and veg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Trout also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Lazy Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Trout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.