We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qarma

Qarma
Cross Mill | Cross Street, Leek ST13 6BL, England
01538 387788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 76 Restaurants in Leek
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Bangladeshi, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Multi Award winning Restaurant - Voted Top 10 in the UK, best in West Midlands, best in Staffordshire, voted for by the public, voted for by celebrities, MP's and diplomats and also by other chefs within the industry as being one of the finest establishments in the country.Qarma is a restaurant situated in an old mill. It is hidden from general view - the advantage being it is the only restaurant in Leek with it'sown car parking.Inside - we have seating capacity for 170 people. We have a lounge area that seats approximately 40people for you to peruse the menu before odering or relax with a cup of chai after your meal.We also cater for people with physical disabilities - not like others!
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This Bangladeshi restaurant is amazing. Do Not go here though if you expect a quick 'Indian'. The food is exceptional and this takes time to prepare. The atmosphere is lovely; you can relax on big soft leather sofas at the bginning of your evening and the end. The Staff are very attentive and the owner, Mr Miah, always does a round of the restaurant to ensure you are enjoying your evening. Take time to enjoy the whole experience of Qarma.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    93
    27
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I really like Qarma, never had a bad meal here.

The food is lovely, it's more about the flavours than the heat. There is so much choice, including a range of healthy options, vegetarian options and Qarma specials. If you're struggling to choose, the thali's a good option as you get little bits of everything.

Most dishes come with rice so you know the price of your curry is an "all inclusive" price, the staff are very accomodating too so if you don't like the rice that comes with your dish, they will try to cater to your requests.

The owner/head chef always comes out to chat to people, the restuarant is clean and then there's all the little touches like ladies are given a rose and you often get offered a night cap on the house.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went tho the peak district for a week break and read about this restaurant so thought we would give it a try.
I wished we lived nearer. Everything about this place was excellent. A true family run Indian restaurant with amazing food and fantastic customer service. We went there twice. Once on a quiet Monday night and the chef (who is the father and part owner) came out to meet us and make sure everything was ok. I have never had that before. And then we went again on the friday night (you definately need to book) when it was really busy but the front of house and the food was no different between the 2 nights. Both were top quality.
If you are in the area you have to go

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh mouth watering quality food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Iv dined in and had takeaways delivered to home. Each dish has been freshly prepared and flavoursome. Quality and value for money is paramount here. Childs portions available on curry favourites. Ample for my boys. Waiters are delightful. Work hard when busy and create a great atmosphere. Situated in an old mill the carpark is tired but once inside its authentic and very contempory in design. I got a rose on leaving. A great touch!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good things come to those who wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been to the Qarma on a number of occasions, staff are always very welcoming. It is a popular place to eat and therefore can be quite busy at times which often results in waiting a long time for your meal to arrive. I wouldnt reccommend going for a quick meal, but is great for birthdays parties or a nig gathering. When the meal does arrive however it is top notch! I have never experienced a bad curry from this place and the puddings are also lovely. The head chef often comes out of the kitchen to greet customers which is a nice personal touch. Would reccommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qarma also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Qarma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qarma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.