We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice carvery, friendly place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rudyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rudyard to your Saves list
Hotel Rudyard
Lake Road | Rudyard, Leek, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
1 review
“nice carvery, friendly place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

we have stayed here twice now, the second time we paid 35pound more for a room with a spa bath which was a bit steep, we had a carvery which was lovely but hubby paid same price for a sherry trifle that had no sherry in it!, bar staff were friendly and we had a nice time but for 85 pounds we would expect the rooms to be a bit cleaner, the loo brush was filthy and there was a weird high pitched noise coming from somewhere, we would stay again but probably in a cheaper room as there wasnt much difference and the place could be so much better with a bit of tlc

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    11
    11
    19
See reviews for
32
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We called in one weekend and snacked.We didnt want a full meal,but they did smell delicious,and by the number of diners,it seemed popular.We had a drink and the prices were about norm.What we did notice was the pleasant friendly atmosphere,and of course the fantastic surroundings.This hotel/restaurent is set right in the middle of the Staffordshire Moorlands next to a beautiful lake.We walked our snack off down by the lake,which is a canal top up for the area.We have been back since that day to watch the season changing,and there is no where as picturesque as the Moorlands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here in 2012 after deciding to make a weekend of a Zorbing day I had booked nearby. The room was nice, a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi bath which was lovely. Everything was quite dated, but it was still lovely & most importantly clean!
The view was beautiful of the hills, and the area which the hotel is situated was really nice, right next to the lake which we spent the day walking around.
For dinner we had the carvery, which was inexpensive and good for the price. Sat in the bar in the evening which the partner enjoyed as the drinks were cheap!
The breakfast was good, we were the only ones in there as we came down quite late.
Overall, for the price, the place is lovely, the staff are friendly. You get what you pay for here, was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

not sure what others are talking about - i enjoyed this place, lovely staff, good food & clean rooms. what more do people want - it isn't the savoy but i was not paying £1k/room/night.
Leek is a greatb place to go lots to do - enjoy it - stop complaining and smile

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I must have stayed in an entirely different hotel to the other reviewers, as I found my bedroom fantastic. The room was huge, clean, well decorated and to a very high standard. We had a jacuzzi in our bath room and worried for a moment we were being charged extra!
The breakfast was lovely and there was a great selection.
The dining rooms were a little dated but certainly not run down.
Regarding the 'Faulty Towers' comments I can only imagine Basil would have had more custom had his hotel run as efficiently as this one!
Lovely weekend spent there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed last night for a wedding. We very much thought it was like faulty towers due to the age of the hotel and the very odd reception !! The room felt odd and dated but we had a fab time. The pints were £3 per pint so hubby was happy. We had the car very for our meal at wedding and the meat was lovely. The potatoes n veg r over boiled but ok. The cauliflower cheese was actually quite nice. Deserts were quite large n tasty. The breakfast was nice and hot. Sausages didn't appear well cooked for other guests so we just asked for ours to be well done ! Experience was pleasant enough but not somewhere we would go back to. We wouldn't have a need to !

Room Tip: Ask for a bridal suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We visited the hotel for the carvery on a Saturday evening. The price was very reasonable, but the whole experience was very disappointing. The lady behind the bar seemed very grumpy and everything seemed too much trouble. We went through to the dining room where there were about 10 people all crowded into the entrance waiting to be seated and not a member of staff anywhere to be seen. Eventually we were seated. The dining room was very grubby - chair cushions were dirty and the room reminded me more of a "greasy spoon" cafe rather than a dining room in a hotel. Under the table we noticed a pest repellent plug in - is this a sign that they have a problem with rats, mice or ants perhaps? The carvery food was OK although all the sauces had run out. After the main course I went to order a sweet. There was no one at the bar serving. Another customer had already been waiting for about 20 minutes. I had to go back into the dining room to track down a waitress to serve us. We had chosen a pudding from the main menu only to be told that they don't do that pudding any more. Overall, it seems such a shame that what could be a beautiful hotel (with some investment) in a fantasic location is so run down and unloved. The main issue however is the poor level of service provided by the staff. They need a few lessons in basic manners as well as customer service. We left at the end of the meal feeling very disappointed. We certainly won't be going back as there are lots of much nicer places in the local area. What a shame!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rudyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rudyard

Address: Lake Road | Rudyard, Leek, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rudyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudyard Hotel Leek
Hotel Rudyard Leek, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rudyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.