We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience but could be much better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rudyard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rudyard
Save
You added Hotel Rudyard to your Saves list
Lake Road | Rudyard, Leek, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Leek
England
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience but could be much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We attended a wedding reception here and must say it was a wonderful night. The buffet was superb. Very fresh and with a large variety of items. The function room was decorated really very nicely and the in house DJ was very good. Service at the bar was quick and friendly. We noticed that the carvery was very popular on the wedding day so decided to come back a few days later and give it a try. The carvery itself was excellent value and quality and the staff very friendly. We ordered coffee's and went into the bar/lounge areas to enjoy. The coffee's took about 2o minutes to arrive but we did get an appology for the long wait. We would certainly return for the carvery and the hotel is in a stunning location. With a little more love and attention I am sure this could place could be excellent rather then average. If it is quality and top class service you are looking for then I would suggest you go elswhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    13
    12
    21
See reviews for
35
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you were or still are a fan of Faulty Towers then you will love the Hotel Rudyard near Leek. Staf miserable...over heard the two girls working [or pretending to] moan constantly about the customers. A party of four people ordered food from the one menu which could be located , the girl left the bar to "ask in the kitchen if this would be ok as normally people come for the carvery!" The decor is so dated and so very dirty we left ...in a hurry!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel dated but clean and comfortable. The man behind the bar was very rude and seemed it was a chore to service us. We tried the Sunday carvey and yes its Ok for the money, just ashame we felt we were in a 1955 Butlins camp and the staff dont not how to smile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently had our wedding at this hotel, it was amazing!! The setting is beautiful, perfect for a family wedding.

The staff were helpful and very friendly. The owners were gems and went out of their way to help us and our guests, even taking the best man home at 2 in the morning!!

The food was gorgeous, classical and boasted lots of choice. The function room its self is stunning and was exactly what we wanted, it has the be seen to be believed.

I would recommend to anyone for any function or even a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddleton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My friend and I had a run out to the hotel for lunch as we had heard that it had a carvery. As usual the hotel looked wonderful situated as it is on the lake side.
On entering the hotel it was apparent that some refurbishment had taken place but that there was a long way to go!
The dining room was reminiscent of an old folks home and the diners looked very much at home. We were by far the youngest diners in the room (both of us are 60+)
However, the food was first class ... a choice of meats and so many vegetables, more than the average carvery. All fresh and very tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all a great place to eat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here 6 years ago and the hotel has improved since that stay. However, despite the spectacular views, pleasant rooms and being generally clean its still not there. Unfortunately I can see that it would cost an absolute fortune to do up to the standard it deserves, carry on selling the carvery and hopefully make enough to do it up guys....
By the way £95 for the family room and £70 for the double is a bit rich.

Room Tip: For the best view go for Room 5 at the top - but not if you can't climb narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in this hotel recently as it was recommended as local accommodation for a wedding taking place nearby. We check it on trip advisor prior to booking and though some reviews were very good(re the carvery) and others were quite bad(re the hotel accommodation) we were assured by our friends that this hotel was most conveniently located. The hotel staff were aware we were a wedding party.

On check in, the manager was really friendly but other staff weren’t. We were placed in an adequate room with a good view.

The tea biscuits in our room were best before July 2011. We stayed in October 2011. and we were able to get one iron but we were told no ironing board was available. The iron used on the morning of wedding had dirt shooting out of the steam vents in the steam iron. …seriously staining white clothes brown. The toilet brush in our room contained numerous brown particles within the brush. We didn’t perform a lab analysis but we can only presume that to be faecal matter.

The room we left to go to the wedding remained unclean upon our return. The next morning we received no explanation or apology for this. The breakfast was fine and we were quite a big wedding party so I wont complain about the little things (like cold tea and having to ask for toast 3 times).

It’s the basics that I would expect from a hotel charging £80 per room per night, that sadly were not delivered. It has the potential, had enough forethought and preparation gone into guest hospitality to be a good hotel. But our stay unfortunately didn’t reflect this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rudyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rudyard

Address: Lake Road | Rudyard, Leek, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Rudyard Hotel Leek
Hotel Rudyard Leek, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rudyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.