We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rudyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rudyard to your Saves list
Hotel Rudyard
Lake Road | Rudyard, Leek, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Cheddleton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Weekday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My friend and I had a run out to the hotel for lunch as we had heard that it had a carvery. As usual the hotel looked wonderful situated as it is on the lake side.
On entering the hotel it was apparent that some refurbishment had taken place but that there was a long way to go!
The dining room was reminiscent of an old folks home and the diners looked very much at home. We were by far the youngest diners in the room (both of us are 60+)
However, the food was first class ... a choice of meats and so many vegetables, more than the average carvery. All fresh and very tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all a great place to eat!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    11
    11
    19
See reviews for
32
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed here 6 years ago and the hotel has improved since that stay. However, despite the spectacular views, pleasant rooms and being generally clean its still not there. Unfortunately I can see that it would cost an absolute fortune to do up to the standard it deserves, carry on selling the carvery and hopefully make enough to do it up guys....
By the way £95 for the family room and £70 for the double is a bit rich.

Room Tip: For the best view go for Room 5 at the top - but not if you can't climb narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in this hotel recently as it was recommended as local accommodation for a wedding taking place nearby. We check it on trip advisor prior to booking and though some reviews were very good(re the carvery) and others were quite bad(re the hotel accommodation) we were assured by our friends that this hotel was most conveniently located. The hotel staff were aware we were a wedding party.

On check in, the manager was really friendly but other staff weren’t. We were placed in an adequate room with a good view.

The tea biscuits in our room were best before July 2011. We stayed in October 2011. and we were able to get one iron but we were told no ironing board was available. The iron used on the morning of wedding had dirt shooting out of the steam vents in the steam iron. …seriously staining white clothes brown. The toilet brush in our room contained numerous brown particles within the brush. We didn’t perform a lab analysis but we can only presume that to be faecal matter.

The room we left to go to the wedding remained unclean upon our return. The next morning we received no explanation or apology for this. The breakfast was fine and we were quite a big wedding party so I wont complain about the little things (like cold tea and having to ask for toast 3 times).

It’s the basics that I would expect from a hotel charging £80 per room per night, that sadly were not delivered. It has the potential, had enough forethought and preparation gone into guest hospitality to be a good hotel. But our stay unfortunately didn’t reflect this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at this hotel for a wedding (reception in nearby sailing club). On arrival the first issue is a lack of a proper manned reception desk. Instead reception is a shelf in a corridor between the kitchen and toilets where service means interrupting a staff member who is carrying food from the kitchen to the dining room. Our first impression of the room was that it was clean but it was very cold and smelled musty. It was an adequate size although very dated, like the rest of the hotel.

We stayed in room 7 which had no shower, just a bath and we were not informed of this beforehand. On returning at around 1130 pm from the wedding reception we were unable to regain entry to the hotel. It was only much later when another guest arrived that we realised our room key was missing a key fob, which is the only way to get into the unmanned hotel. We got back to our room and it was clear that the room had been completely untouched from the morning. The bed was unmade, the room had not been cleaned, mugs used had not been cleaned, towels were not changed. Basically this was not the standard expected from a hotel, especially not one that was charging £80 per night for a room!

The following morning on check out, no staff were available at the reception area so we had to wait around again until someone came out of the kitchen. I mentioned to this staff member that our room had not been cleaned to which she responded 'No one else complained'. In fact most of the hotel was filled by the wedding party and we had already ascertained over breakfast that none of the rooms had been cleaned, including the bridal suite on her wedding night!!!!!

The staff member tried to insist that we pay full price and then write to the manager as we were told the manager was away for hours. My husband then insisted that we would leave without paying at all, when miraculously a more senior member of staff arrived. I am glad that we did not just walk away as previous trip advisor reviews indicate that complaints are ignored after the full price has been paid. I would suggest that anyone with a complaint (likely as the service is appalling) should not be afraid to insist that a fair price is paid and not pay full price for disgusting, unclean rooms. Or simply I would recommend that you avoid this hotel like the plague and stay somewhere else that is worth the price.

Room Tip: Room 7 has no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We visited in August 2011 and requested what food was being served that day, we were handed a menu with 3 vegetarian choices on it and then ordered drinks. We tried twice to order vegetarian meal and was then told that there was only the carvery that day!!! I have complained to the manager twice by email and have NOT received any reply in regard to not supplying vegetarian options PRIOR to us ordering drinks, carvery is obviously NOT vegetarian! Who wants a plate full of dry vegetables with no gravy etc!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Having a very disconcerting guest from Vienna. I decided to take her to the Hotel Rudyard for lunch. The response was, nothing to compare HOTEL RUDYARD for the value, and lovely setting in the whole of Austria ! I am amazed at the poor comments on this site regarding the lunches.(Since they were posted, things have really changed). We found the food excellent value for money and such a choice of vegetables along with the three meats which were so tender. I would say to sum up, don't hesitate give it a try - you will be surprised.It's in a beautiful setting, ideal to sit out on the terrace, on a sunny day, with a cool drink. We are now planning our forth visit very soon, with more to follow.
THE HAPPY WANDERER'S

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokeontrent unitedkingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We visited the sunday carvery on Sunday 3rd July 2011.
Hotel very busy with wedding anniversary,carvery room was fully booked , so we had our carvery in the bar area. Excellent choice with three meats and good choice of vehatables and poatoes. We arrived at noon and the hotel was getting busy then. We had our carvery which was enjoyable and good value at £ 5.95 per head. We were just disappointanted in the time we had to wait over 30 minutes for a sherry trifle to be servved tp us, actually disappointed in the trifle their was no sherry in the trifle at all small portion for £ 3.95.

Suggestion for the hotel so that everybody get's their carvery quicker would be the vegatable container's are very small compared with other carvery places we have visited, i am sure that larger container's would help on the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rudyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rudyard

Address: Lake Road | Rudyard, Leek, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rudyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudyard Hotel Leek
Hotel Rudyard Leek, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rudyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.